Chasing the wildlife


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
October 8th 2011
Published: October 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Albatross SanctuaryAlbatross SanctuaryAlbatross Sanctuary

The Otago Peninsula
Well me and my bike got here safely on the bus and I felt like an awful fake as I arrived at the hostel people asked me where had I come from? I replied the bus station. I can't stop laughing even now.

For a while I seemed to have routed myself here for no particular reason, oh yes I ordered some paniers off trade me (the same as e-bay) so I am waiting for there arrival and well, I need to rest my weary backpacking legs. I haven't wasted my time here, I am out and about trying to find my cycling legs and the wildlife, which I have to say is running away from me. I set off down the Otago Peninsula one day in search of the Royal Albatross, they had all flown away, the next day for the sea lions, they were out swimming the wide open oceans, then the following day, penguins, they stayed in their holes. I give up!

One thing that wasn't going to be going anywhere was the worlds steepest road and I tracked it down, I walked up it, (left the bike at the bottom) took the picture and walked
George, Pugsy & myselfGeorge, Pugsy & myselfGeorge, Pugsy & myself

The only wild thing I could find was the weather and I am a bit of a rare breed!
back down it. Mission accomplished!

So once I have pulled my finger out of my cycling backside I do have a lose plan but first things first i am going to hang around for one more night to watch the rugby, then the open road and all the elements are mine.

For now here is Dunedin minus the wildlife.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dunedin train stationDunedin train station
Dunedin train station

Another dance hall classic
This way!This way!
This way!

I must of taken a wrong turn somewhere.
Christchurch 051Christchurch 051
Christchurch 051

This isn't the streets of San Fransico.
At the topAt the top
At the top

Great view, wouldn't wnat to live at the top of this road though.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb