Naseby to Dunedin


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
March 16th 2009
Published: March 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Moon Moon Moon

This is the moon in the AM when I woke up in Naseby
Sunday, March 15, 2009 Naseby to Dunedin

“I was gratified to answer promptly. I said ‘I don’t know’. “ Mark Twain

That just about sizes up what I did today. I got up at a reasonably early hour, 7:45, with the idea of eating breakfast in Naseby. By the way, I was more than mildly surprised that I didn’t have aches and pains after the ride yesterday. Anyway, being Sunday it was too early for the one café to be open so down the road 13k I go, into Ranfurley. Even though it is now 8:45 there still is only one place open, the Hotel. A desk clerk points to the dining room and I go in to find no one there. There is a sign that says you get coffee, juice and something else free with your breakfast and that is all set out on a table. (You trip advisor folks may remember the epic conversation that Ron and several of us wrote on coffee. Well sure enough, here was the instant coffee as big as life) I tried to rationalize that it was free, made some and sat down. I heard talking in the kitchen but obviously they didn’t know I was there so I walked back stuck my head in the door and announced I would have a full breakfast. Surprisingly less than 5 minutes later a lady came out with it. Afterwards I go across the street with the idea of buying a Rail Trail T-shirt but they don’t have my size. I start a nice conversation with Lisa, approx my age, about Central Otago, the trail and life as we know it. Carla, you will be gratified to know that everyone asks where you are and I offer up a short or long version depending on the circumstances. Being very chatty, Lisa got the long version plus a couple of stories about the grandchildren. I leave with two Central Otago t-shirts. I’m a sucker for a cool logo. Out on the road, next stop Hyde. I get some real coffee and sit in the sun and read. By noon I have arrived in Dunedin. Committed to a lazy day I park the van and just spend several hours walking around town, checked out the “World Famous” train station and several other attractions. I go to see the University of Otago and what should I
FlowersFlowersFlowers

typical flora in Otago
happen upon, a club rugby match. This is good for more than a few minutes of watching and then I’m off to get lost in traffic and finally find the Holiday Park in South Dunedin, next to the ocean. I grab the bike and ride out to the beach. The beautiful blue green Pacific Ocean is rolling in on a wide beach about a mile long. Kids are playing, teenagers are surfing, another opportunity to just sit and soak it all in. Riding further down the beach I spot several clubs. No these are not bars, these are sports clubs. There is Rugby, Bowling (lawn bowling) indoor Badminton, an ice rink and the Cricket Club. And I thought Americans were sports nuts. Boy I am really tired. Time to write all this down and go to bed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

CemeteryCemetery
Cemetery

There are a lot of towns by this name and they are always just off the main road.
FootballFootball
Football

yes, football
Train StationTrain Station
Train Station

Supposedly world famous, certainly as train stations go


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb