A Canadian in New Zealand-Day 31 - Bluff, Curio Bay, Porpoise Bay, Fossil Forest, and the Hoiho(Yellow-eyed Penguin)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Curio Bay
April 30th 2016
Published: April 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Off to start my journey through the Catlins and head up the east coast of New Zealand via the Southern Scenic Route. First stop was Stirling Point, Bluff, with it’s famous signpost. This is the beginning of State Highway 1 which traverses the length of the country to Cape Reinga in the far north. A milestone for me as a few weeks ago, on day 10, I was in Cape Reinga. I have actually crossed the entire country of New Zealand in my travels - tip to tip. After my obligatory selfie, I made my way to Curio Bay. The last 20 km or so was a gravel road so it took some time. There I visited a fossil forest - trees 180 million years old petrified in waters on the beach. Of course you can only see bits and pieces encrusted in rock. Curio Bay is also home to the rare yellow-eyed penguin (hoiho) which is only found in New Zealand and is the rarest penguin in the world.. I returned to the beach at dusk as they often come ashore then. Luckily, I did observe one of these rare creatures as it clumsily walked and hopped along. Porpoise Bay was close so I visited it, did some shelling, and took some pictures of the lovely sandy beach. Tomorrow I further explore the Catlins hoping to see the Cathedral Caves.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb