RoadTrip NZ


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
February 24th 2009
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sand and a StoneSand and a StoneSand and a Stone

Standing Alone (Purakaunui Beach)
Dear diary, I've come to know, after anxious anticipation, the answer to why it burns when I pee... with unfortunate luck they tell me it's from... Who-ha, err uhm, sorry about that... wrong diary. Where was I? As I was finishing living out my last three days in Picton without any real agenda other than to move on, I found myself agreeing to a car rental with two germans and a frenchie whom I met while living at the hostel. My time is nearing an end here in kiwiland, so I thought it a good idea to hit the road and see the sights 'roadtrip' style or as they say in german, 'roadtrip!'. 17 days, 15 campsites, and 50 stops of intrigue later...


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The West Coast CrewThe West Coast Crew
The West Coast Crew

(front seat clockwise) Henning, Ileana, Aline and 'allow myself to introduce... myself'.
I swear, doc! I slipped in the shower. I swear, doc! I slipped in the shower.
I swear, doc! I slipped in the shower.

Destination: Puzzling World, a museum of illusion.
A subtle reminder of how far away home isA subtle reminder of how far away home is
A subtle reminder of how far away home is

and how easy it is to find my way back. (at a seal colony, Westport)
Kiwis of the MistKiwis of the Mist
Kiwis of the Mist

-- on the road leaving the 30person town of Okarito.
Sea ChangesSea Changes
Sea Changes

-- reflections off a moist shore.
Earth's NightlightEarth's Nightlight
Earth's Nightlight

-- overlooking Wanaka.
Pancake Rocks (Punakaiki)Pancake Rocks (Punakaiki)
Pancake Rocks (Punakaiki)

-- perspective -- center top white dot far distant is a t-shirt.
The West Coast SandwichThe West Coast Sandwich
The West Coast Sandwich

-- for 17 days our diets consisted of a varying combo of peanut butter, lettuce, corn chip, banana, cucumber sandwiches. Living on the cheap has it's price.
My first sighting of seals in NZ from way on high.My first sighting of seals in NZ from way on high.
My first sighting of seals in NZ from way on high.

-- a surreal moment at sunset on the cliffs of Cape Farwell.
Pebbled EarthPebbled Earth
Pebbled Earth

-- Fortrose.
The endangered Royal AlbatrossThe endangered Royal Albatross
The endangered Royal Albatross

-- with a wing span of 3m, these flying giants are an impressive sight (Dunedin).
Milford SoundMilford Sound
Milford Sound

-- Mitre Peak (center) dominates the skyline as the world's tallest sea cliff @ 1642m (you do the math).
Excuse me, could you spare a square?Excuse me, could you spare a square?
Excuse me, could you spare a square?

-- Puzzling World, Wanaka.
Fox GlacierFox Glacier
Fox Glacier

-- within 10 kms, we drove from the beach, hiked through a rainforest, and found mountains and a sea of glacier.
I, Too, Was HereI, Too, Was Here
I, Too, Was Here

-- my own insight to this fluxuating monument of passerbyers.
Color on a Gray DayColor on a Gray Day
Color on a Gray Day

-- a rainy evening camping on the coast. (Punakaiki)
Ascending TreesAscending Trees
Ascending Trees

-- coastal camping. (Punakaiki)
City Leaves.City Leaves.
City Leaves.

-- Christchurch
"We named the dog, Indiana.""We named the dog, Indiana."
"We named the dog, Indiana."

-- west coast somewhere...
Lone Kayaker.Lone Kayaker.
Lone Kayaker.

-- view from our campground on Lake Gunn on Feb 14th, 'singles' awareness day'. How apropos.
Layers of Earth, Water, and Sky Layers of Earth, Water, and Sky
Layers of Earth, Water, and Sky

-- "Onions! Onions have layers. Ogres have layers." (Lake Tekapo)
Milford SoundMilford Sound
Milford Sound

-- Perspective -- the center waterline white dot is a 24m, two story high, tour boat.


24th February 2009

Raymondo the Great
AMAZING pictures Ray, I think the best yet.., so beautiful...keep em coming! Glad to see you're still alive and well.
25th February 2009

jealousy abounds
I agree with Rob - these are the best pictures so far. I'm glad you are developing some skills in your drifter life. I going to start planing my trip to NZ today.

Tot: 0.376s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 22; qc: 94; dbt: 0.1202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb