Greetings From New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
January 25th 2005
Published: January 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Windsor Private HotelThe Windsor Private HotelThe Windsor Private Hotel

This is the hotel I stayed at in Christchurch. It is a turn of the century home that was converted to a bed & breakfast.
I arrived in New Zealand early in the morning on Sunday, January 23rd, after a long overnight flight from LA. When I arrived in Christchurch I checked into the Windsor Private Hotel, which is a turn of the century home that has been converted into a bed & breakfast, and then I went exploring. It was a beautiful day that I spent walking through the streets of Christchurch - I visited Cathedral Square with it’s large gothic church and stone walkways, I walked through the many parks along the Avon River watching the punts, which are similar to the gondolas in Venice, and the ducks go by, I learned the history of the surrounding region in the Canterbury Museum and I walked through the verdant forests and colorful fields of flowers and grass in the botanical gardens. As I walked, I watched street performers who were in town from all over the world for a festival - I saw comically fighting Vikings, human statues, a guy from Boston balancing on a board rolling on a pipe while juggling bowling pins, and a gymnast in a show of strength and balance, gracefully dancing to Indian music while she was suspended twenty feet
The Christ ChurchThe Christ ChurchThe Christ Church

This is the cathedral in Cathedral Square.
in the air. Christchurch is known as the garden city and I can understand why, because all of the homes have very well manicured lawns with colorful flowers everywhere and all of the parks have large trees providing a multitude of shady places to sit on the grass and relax. The City’s architecture is also unique with old stone buildings, many of them churches, and large fountains and statues located throughout the parks. I finished my first day by having dinner with friends at a local Tai restaurant and walking home.

The following morning I went on a mission to find shoelaces for my boots, because I was having problems with the current ones. On the way to the stores I stopped by the Bank of New Zealand to cash my remaining traveler’s checks and after a long lecture by the teller arising from differences between my signature on my passport and the one on the checks, I got my money and was on my way. I walked several blocks before I found the store I was looking for. The store was a large outdoor gear store, but, despite their large selection of boots, they had no laces for
Tranquility in the GardensTranquility in the GardensTranquility in the Gardens

One of the many quiet ponds in the Botanical Gardens.
sale. After going into four more stores, all of them selling boots like mine, I found a shoe repair store that had the laces I needed and I completed my mission. On my way back to the hotel I met some friends for lunch and then we all proceeded to the CDC (clothing distribution center) at the International Antarctic Center to try on all of our ECW (extreme cold weather) gear. At the CDC, they put us in a large room and give us each three bags containing our clothing issue to try on. All of the old timers were notably unexcited and all of us “Newbies” soon found out why - The room was a large warehouse that was very warm inside and we had to try on all of the issued clothing, which is made to keep you warm in “Extreme Cold Weather”, and exchange anything that didn’t fit with the correct sizes. The whole process took around an hour and a half and then we had the rest of the day to ourselves. At dinner the previous evening we decided to rent a car and drive out to the coast to a seaside village called Akaroa on
The Lighthouse of AkaroaThe Lighthouse of AkaroaThe Lighthouse of Akaroa

This is on of the many vistas available to a visitor in Akaroa. The bay is actually part of an extinct volcano.
the Banks Peninsula. Six of us loaded into a rented Lotus truck and began our journey to the sea. We passed through rolling green hills and coastal mountains that reminded me of Napa Valley in California and then we reached the sea. Akaroa is a small town on a harbor that is actually an extinct volcanic crater. The water in the harbor is a milky turquoise color, similar to what you would see in a glacial pool in the Canadian Rockies, and is one of the best places in New Zealand to see the rare Hector’s Dolphin and several species of sea birds, including two varieties of penguins. We arrived too late in the day to take a cruise on the harbor and we didn’t see any wildlife, but we walked out to a lighthouse and climbed up a hill to a cliff overlooking the bay to take some pictures. We then sat and ate dinner while we watched the sun fall to the horizon and then we headed back to Christchurch and our hotels.

The next morning we reported to the CDC at eight o’clock, got dressed into our ECW gear and checked in for the long flight
Punting on the AvonPunting on the AvonPunting on the Avon

Punting is one of the ways to enjoy the many parks, in Christchurch, that line the Avon river.
to the Ice. There was a lot of speculation about whether or not we would fly because the two C141s, which are very old military planes, that were on the tarmac the previous day were broken, but in the end they flew in a plane that was not broken (or at least was less broken) and the flight was on.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The Botanical GardensThe Botanical Gardens
The Botanical Gardens

This is a fountain at the entrance of the botanical gardens. There were many performances going on the day I was there.
The Rose GardenThe Rose Garden
The Rose Garden

The rose garden is one of the many hidden places in Christchurch's Botanical Gardens.
A Nice Patch of Grass.A Nice Patch of Grass.
A Nice Patch of Grass.

This would be a great place to lie down and take a nap or have a pick nick.
A Very Colorful display!A Very Colorful display!
A Very Colorful display!

Lots of colors - I just liked the picture.
Akaroa Cruising ClubAkaroa Cruising Club
Akaroa Cruising Club

The caption says it all.
A Look Across the BayA Look Across the Bay
A Look Across the Bay

This is the view from the top of the bluff I climbed in Akaroa.
The Country Side.The Country Side.
The Country Side.

Here is our first view of Akaroa Bay. The rolling hills remind me of Napa, my old home.


26th January 2005

Life in New Zealand
I'll look forward to your future journals. I'm very interested in New Zealand. Please post anything about everyday life there. Thanks..

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb