What do toys have to do with transportation?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Central Otago » Wanaka
August 11th 2005
Published: August 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Barbies and cars togetherBarbies and cars togetherBarbies and cars together

At the Toys and Transportation museum
On Thursday I decided it was about time to leave Qtown finally and go to Wanaka. The weather is not as good as yesterday, it's pretty overcast. On the way I visited the Coronet Peak ski field - today I could go all the way up without snow chains and enjoy the white soft snow. Maybe I should have stayed here longer and ski one or two days, well it's too late. The road to Wananka through the Crown Ranges is winding and steep, and as always the views around me are stunning. The road itself is stunning - at some points it winds down at the bottom of the river valley, as you can see in a picture I took while driving.
Wanaka was cute as always but heavily overcast. I checked the forecast for the following days and it was going to get much worse. There go my plans for some hiking. I replaced them with a visit to the Toy and Transportation museum, which was one the funniest and weirdest museums I have ever visited. It holds a collection of toys - big Barbies collection, Star War memorabilia, and side by side with that cars, planes (one Russian fighter jet MIG-something), tanks, typing machines, an iron, teddy bears (some in the cars:-), fire fighter trucks and anything you can think about under toys and transportation.
In the evening I went out to a pub with Chloie from England whom I met in the hostel, it was fun as always, chatting about guys... The pizza was fine too!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 81; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb