Puzzling world puzzled me


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Central Otago » Wanaka
July 27th 2004
Published: July 27th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Puzzling WorldPuzzling WorldPuzzling World

Odd little place that managed to make me fall over, bang into things and generally made me feel queazy - but no alcohol was served!!!
The first stop of the morning between Wanaka and Queenstown was at puzzling world

Well this certainly mucked up my head first thing in the morning. The holograms were pretty smart but the hall of moving faces freaked me out. It is based on the Mona Lisa moving eyes type trick. The next room looked normal from the outside but actualy played tricks with sizes for anyone looking in while there were people inside. This is the same simple technology they used in the Lord of the Rings films to make the hobbits look small.

However it was the last room that made me feel dizzy and basically under the influence in a pretty major way. Firstly I walked into a mirror that I thought was another room. Then I had the sensation that I was falling over - possibly because the room was tilted!!!  There were a number of mind-boggling tricks - like water running uphill and placing a pool ball on the table and it going uphill without throwing it up the table - weird!
Anyway after that we were on our way again and the next stop was the A.J. Hackett (1st ever bungee jumper) Bunjee Centre.  Well I
QueenstownQueenstownQueenstown

Queenstown is anything but a quaint lakeside town - it is party town for adrenalin junkies and pretty wild!
have never had any inclination to attach an elastic cord to my ankles and jump off a bridge, but I watched some others who were up for it.  There is definately something in the pschology of playing videos of bungees past and present in different locations around the globe, after about 15min I started to think that possibly I could do one, afterall, I did manage to jump out of a plane - and I wasn't the only person starting to feel that way.  Thankfully it was time to leave before I signed up to lose a few more brain cells!
Queenstown - or party town was the next stop.  This is the adventure capital of the world, but I have actually managed to avoid spending hundreds on lots of different adrenalin rush activities like bungee, paragliding, parabungee and rafting amongst others.  Instead I blew my non-existant budget on another kayak trip and skiing.

Advertisement



6th April 2006

very nice
i felt i was ther and like you i would be able to enjoy that fact along. and share the experince with others thank you for the good feeling today make a person feel like not givivg up

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb