South Island Big Trip


Advertisement
Published: October 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hey you guys

So this one has been 11 weeks in the 'waiting for' and about 6 years in the 'longing for' box. My trip to South Island New Zeland with the ever faithful Katie as my steed! Before leaving Hunua, I kitted her out with the awesome 'Rhino Rack' roofing system, a 440 litre top box, the 'Fox Wing' awning and J clamps for the Viking Espri kayak that I borrowed from a friend. We left Hunua at 9am Saturday 30th Sept morning and took the leisurely 620km journey to Wellington in order to catch the early Interislander ferry to Picton. I've not blogged the pics from the drive as there are many better images easily available on You Tube. I stayed the night at a motel in Lower Hutt city with the intention of being up silly early and heading for the South. The crossing was calm and ordinary with a few Bottlenose Dolphins but no whale sightings, and I arrived in Picton ready to head for Motueka in the Abel Tasman National Park. The drive on empty roads with simply breathtaking scenery was amazing (South Island has 3x less people than the North Island although similar in size). I stopped a few times on the way to remind myself of the trip that me and Dan took in 2011, even playing the Dream Theater tracks we listened to then, and I arrived at my campsite in Motueka spot on 3pm. Stupidly, I had not practised with the Fox Wing before arrival and the heavens opened (and continue to do so) as soon as I arrived. Fumbling through the 17 PAGES of instuctions, I have managed to erect the Fox Wing am am sitting happily under her protection as the rains continue to fall. The Fernwood campsite is large and the owner is really friendly. I have pitched up next to an apple orchard and will chill happily for the rest of today, rather than heading down to Cobb River to fish as I had planned.

The adventure continues early doors tomorrow when I head up to my intended final location, the Cobb River (past the dam), to the DOC campsite that I intend to stay 2 days at ; fishing, kayaking and just chilling in the naked beauty of South Island. If it's raining, I will reassess my plans as getting soaked is no problem but 22km on an unsurfaced road to catch nothing but a cold may well be.

Keep checking for updates but I tell you no lie when I say that South Island, as I thought 6 years ago and still do, is an unspoiled paradise that God himself must have left to remind us all to KEEP IT REAL.

Much love

Sid and Katie


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



1st October 2017

Well done!
Glad to hear you're enjoying yourself! Sounds like an awesome road trip and very relaxing. Well done on getting your awning up! Sounds like quite an achievement! Look forward to the next installment... Jen and boys x

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb