Kayaking


Advertisement
Published: February 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I stayed one night on the beaches of Kaiteriteri, but had to get there on windy, precarious gravel roads. Well worth it, though. The next day I went to Marahau to begin our trip through the Abel Tasman park. Instead of walking, I booked a kayaking trip that started with a aquataxi to a beach called Onetenoui, then kayaked through the marine reserve to an island with fur seals and their pups on it, and finally to Anchorage Bay for an overnight stay on a beach with beautiful turquoise waters. Along the way, the tour group stopped for lunch at another beautiful bay and saw a really large sting ray, about 3 feet across.

The next day I walked from Anchorage back to Manahau along the coast and through the forest -- quite a piece of paradise.

From there I went to Picton and took the ferry to Wellington and the north island, and am on my way to the Tongariru national park for a multi-day hike there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb