Real New Zealand


Advertisement
Published: December 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

After seeing the Queen Charlotte Sound and now Abel Tasman National Park, I really think I'm seeing the real countryside of New Zealand.

I caught the bus from Nelson to the end of the line at Marahau, which is a small village and claims to be the gateway to the Abel Tasman NP; rightfully so being right at the start of the Abel Tasman track. The hostel is in a great setting and I would certainly recommend "The Barn" to anyone looking to stay in the area.

An example of NZ's famous friendlyness came after I had done my shopping at the village store, a 15 minute walk from the hostel. After loading up three shopping bags (with the plan to self-cater for a few days in order to balance out the relative extravagance of the restaurant in Nelson) one of the water taxi workers volunteered to drive me back to the hostel - very kind.

In the afternoon I went to the beach and had a quick paddle in the sea. This involved a very long walk across the beach, the sea goes out a long way at low tide. I went with an Israeli couple, Ronnie and Jonathon. This was a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours; and a good way to get a sun burnt neck!!

In the evening a few of us investigated the bar, which fortunately is no-where near as far away as the shop.

On my full day in the park I thought a walk would be the best way to expereince the area. So I caught a water Taxi from Marahau up to Bark Bay via Split Apple Rock and Tonga Island Seal colony. Also in the boat were the two German couples from Queen Charlotte sound, I'm not sure if they knew who I was but I spoke with them anyway.

The signposts say it is an 8 hour walk but the lady at the hostel said 5-6 hours, I was hoping it would not take 8 hours. Fortunatly the walk did not take 8 hours but was pretty gruelling at 6 hours. However it was really good and a great way to see the coastline. As with the Queen Charlotte track there are lots of campsites and huts to stay in along the way. This seems quite fun, but walking all day with a pack and then doing it for the next two days does not sound as good.

I spent the eveing getting bitten by midgies and sandflies while chatting with various Germans and eating cookies made by Jan, one of the German guys; very good they were too. A Taiwanese girl, Sarah, who I had met earlier and was doing the same Bark Bay to Marahau walk as me did not appear untill later. Sarah took her time walking, which is the best way to do it if you want to take in as much of the surroundings as possible, after having spent a couple of hours at bark bay first. She got back at 9pm after walking for 9 hours, just before it got dark. Sarah had had a good day and she got back in the end so it was OK although I'm pleased it didn't take me that long.

I left Marahau the next day dissapointed to discover that you can't catch the coach to Nelson and then connect with another the same day. So I spent a night in Nelson at the closest hostel I could find to the bus depot. It was self catering this time although I was tempted to go back for for good food at the Boat Shed


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Anchorage beachAnchorage beach
Anchorage beach

One of the really beautiful beaches in the national park


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb