You've got a Friend in Me


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
February 4th 2011
Published: February 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

There is nothing like walking alone down the center aisle of a bus full of people to the lone seat on the back to make you feel insecure. 86 eyes directed solely on me. What does my hair look like again? Oh well. I hopped back on the bus to Raglan and spent a rainy afternoon in a cute mountainside hostel. My original plan had been to stay in Raglan, a surfing mecca, for a few days but due to the weather, I decided to head out on the bus the next morning. Alas, my dreams of becoming a pro surfer at 28 after only one lesson will just have to wait. We headed back to the other side of the country for a cultural night. The boys learned the haka, the girls learned the poi. Very informative. The fun part came after all that silly learning when the whole group headed down to the beach for a bonfire and drinks. I somehow managed to find myself in the middle of three people from Ireland. And yes, we all perpetuated the stereotype and true to form, got drunk and sang Irish songs on the beach. Well, they sang, I mainly just listened but it was cultural all the same.

The next day we left for lake Taupo via Rotorua, a city that literally smells like rotten eggs. It is known for its geothermal sulfur pools which look (and I imagine smell) quite similar to the bog of eternal stench from the movie Labrynth. Disgusting. I had the opportunity to stay in Taupo and leave the next day for a three day trip along the east coast of NZ for half the price as the regular trip so despite the fear that I would never get the scent of rotten egg out of my pores, I jumped at the chance and got off the bus. Let me tell you, best decision ever!!! Ok maybe not ever but it worked out pretty well! The go east trip is in a 10 passenger “bus/van” as opposed to a 45 passenger bus. Eight of us started the trip and five of the eight are still together (and actually getting along) almost two weeks later. Our driver Jason had his nine year old nephew Israel with him on the trip. I wish I knew who to compare Israel to so that you have a good picture but no one really sums him up. For starters, he was super shy and would barely say hi to any of us. He’s about the size of a 7 year old girl with an oversized skater hat, skinny jeans, a rock and roll t-shirt, skate shoes and a giant fake diamond earring in one ear. I like him immediately. And then we start driving. Now, if you have ever driven a large van or motor home through the Appalachian mountains then you will have a little hint at what it is like driving through the east coast of NZ. I think they rival that one street in San Francisco for the road with the most curves. Only our driver grew up here, so he takes them like he is driving an Audi through the autobahn. Luckily, no one gets carsick. Except Israel. Over, and over, and over, and over. Like a true kiwi though, it doesn’t seem to phase him. It is then that I learn that he has two weeks of this with his uncle Jason and all I can think is, he is going to be a skeleton by the time he goes home. While Israel pukes into a plastic bag in the front seat, the eight of us in the back attempt to get to know one another. There is Juliette, a smiley faced Dutch girl who I have gotten into countless laughing fits with. Markus, or Frenchie as we have grown to call him, the only German male tourist I have met so far who doesn’t completely creep me out. Jason, an Englishman who was one of the friends I met on the first bus. Lauri, a Finnish guy who I never once saw without his backpack (he even slept with it under the covers with him, we have photographic evidence) who also never quite got the concept of joining the group. Lisa P. a 19 year old German girl who is always good fun and cracks me up by saying British phrases like “brilliant” and “bloody hell” in her little German accent. Will, another English guy who would break out into song at any given moment and have us all singing along no matter where we were. And finally, Lisa Dial, or Crocodile as we like to call her, an English school teacher who came across at first as the quiet one but would shatter that image to pieces. Oh yeah, and me!

So I will leave you there for now, winding through the country roads on the east coast of New Zealand with Israel puking in the front seat and new friends in the back.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb