A Canadian in New Zealand - Day 7 - Whangarei, Ocean Beach, Smugglers Cove, Abbey Caves


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Whangarei
April 6th 2016
Published: April 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Second day around Whangarei so I wanted to check out some of the beaches and coastal scenes of Whangarei Heads. So many things to see, so little time. First stop was Ocean Beach in the Bream Head Scenic Reserve. A wonderful, sandy beach worthy of exploring. Although quite warm by Canadian standards for this time of year (23 C), the beaches were empty. A lovely sunny day so I explored the beach from one end to the other and beyond. Then off on the narrow roads. I must say I am not a fan of the narrow, narrow roads of parts of New Zealand. At least one flat so far by over-compensating and rubbing my tyres against the non-existing shoulder (read rocks, boulders, any concrete impediment they can find!). But I digress! After 90 minutes at the beach I headed to a trail linking Urquharts Bay to Smugglers Cove. A short, 20 minute hike over a farmers field to the cove. Although more ambitious hikes are available, I decided to roam the cove instead. Lastly, on my way home, I had one more activity in mind. A quick visit to Abbeys Caves. Three limestone caves are available for exploring with more than a km of trail within the caves. Luckily, they had warning signs such that only "us" experienced cavers should enter. I am kidding Suzanne! The closest I got was within camera distance. Although I may have on a good day stuck my head in, when I could hear the water flowing within the caves, and having just read the flooding warnings, decided the digital image would suffice. The one km loop walking trail, again thru a farmers field, is laced with hundreds of limestone rock formations of all sizes and shapes. Tomorrow am off to Paihia about an hours drive north.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb