A trekking we will go


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
May 10th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mt. Victoria
Trek up to the look out point
Melting gelato.

I went through all my stuff to see what I could unload and/or mail home today. I had some company while doing this since Charlotte was moving onto her Godmother's place to live on a farm. Man she's gotta lot of stuff. She was trying to cram so much stuff into her pack and other bags. It could explain why she's always dressed so nicely though. 😊

So my main objectives for the day were to 1) go to the post office and 2) go for a walk along Oriental Parade and up to the Mt. Victoria look out point. The post office was only a short 10 minute walk from the hostel in and around Cuba street. It was great to be able to do a little window shopping as there are some cute shops in the area. Got away with spending less than $10...saw some Tin Tin stuff and couldn't resist. lol Note to self, I should check to see if there is some sort of Tin Tin Musuem or something to that effect in Belgium and perhaps pay a visit!

I made a pit
HedgehogHedgehogHedgehog

We came across this tiny little hedgehog (mind you I'm not sure how large they are supposed to be when they are full grown!) while walking around Mt. Victoria. I was afraid he was going to get squished...
stop back at the hostel to drop off my backpack and pick up my water bottle. Charlotte's “replacement”, Sarah from Montana had just arrived from the ferry and was unloading her stuff in the room. We started chatting and it turned out we were about to head in the same direction. So we both headed towards Oriental Parade and started walking. Soon enough we were distracted by the gelato shop and had to make a little pit stop. 😊 It was a tough decision trying to decide which flavour to choose. They had a lot of fruit flavours but as per usual I ended up getting chocolate. It was made even better with the dark chocolate bits interspersed throughout the gelato.

We were soon on our way once again and proceeded to look for the Mt. Victoria Look out point path. It was supposed to be clearly marked out BUT I guess with the wind whipping my hair everywhere and then trying to eat my gelato without getting my hair covered in ice cream we missed the turn off! So we had to walk back about five minutes. That's okay though because the power of the gelato gave us that little kick of energy. haha

The path we found was not so clear. It seemed more like a path for the cars to take up there but we managed to eventually make our way to the top of Mt. Victoria. It was well worth the uphill trek because the views were just awesome. Hopefully I'll be able to post some pictures soon BUT no promises since I was trying to post some pics earlier and it was not working.

Anyway, coming down was another story in itself. This time we saw what we thought was a clearly marked post with map on how to get back down Mt. Victoria. Well, it started out nice and clear but apparently there are quite a few smaller less well marked paths to get down there and I think they all of them somehow intersect with one another! After asking a few people we managed to find our way back to our hostel. It was funny, one of the people that we asked for directions ended up asking us if we knew where the "Lord of the Rings" tree was...what?!?

A school group is staying at the hostel the next couple of days. This morning when I went down for breakfast they had all just filed into the dining room. So I had to say excuse me a few times to get to my food. Then this evening when I was just finishing up dinner I hear that it is getting louder and louder...oh no the kids are back! You should have seen all of the food they have stored. I haven't seen that many cans of peaches since I paid a visit to Costco. LOL

The rest of the evening I finished up my packing as much as I could so as not to wake my roommates at 7 in the morning tomorrow. But you know what, no matter how quiet you try to be you always seem to end up making a ton of noise. Darn those plastic bags and really loud zippers!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb