New Zealand - Wellingon - Feb 19-20, 2014


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
February 20th 2014
Published: February 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Cable to the Botanical GardensCable to the Botanical GardensCable to the Botanical Gardens

First was the fun, scenic and lazy tram ride up to the botanical gardens. This is the country's only remaining cable car system.
I know it has been awhile since the last post. I've run into technical problems with iOS 7 'losing' some of my photos. The recovery process is painful. Then, I've had internet access issues. Anyway, I wanted to get something out there for you to see, so here is the Wellington blog!

19th was a long travel day in a bus from Waitoma to Wellington. Not much to report except there are ALOT of sheep and cows in New Zealand. Made it to Wellington at 10pm. It was a 1/2 mile hike to the hotel. Apparently this is the busy season (it is their summer) and because of my lack of planning, there wasn't much available. Fortunately I did get a private room in a crap hostel (do not recommend Lodge in the City), run down and very loud, obnoxious kids outside. There was a clean sheet on the bed thought ...

The next day, Thursday the 20th, started out sketchy with some dramatic (and apparently rare) fog that came in overnight. Usually Wellington has a lot of wind that keeps the fog away, but not today. It cleared up and was a stunning day! I only had one
Botanical GardensBotanical GardensBotanical Gardens

Then the downhill stroll through the beautiful gardens.
day before I had to catch a plane to Christchurch. So I did a city walk recommended by my guide book and then took in the excellent Te Papa museum. I'll let the photos tell the story today!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

304-314 Tenakon Road304-314 Tenakon Road
304-314 Tenakon Road

Next on the stop was this row of houses. After the 1848 Marlborough earthquake, the city's brick and stone buildings were substantially damaged. The timber buildings left unscathed and thus timber used almost exclusively in the 2nd half of the 19th century.
Katherine Mansfield HouseKatherine Mansfield House
Katherine Mansfield House

Writer born in 1888 and lived first five years of her life here. I must confess - I don't know Katherine Mansfield or her writings. But this was part of the walk so I checked it out.
Old St Paul's ChurchOld St Paul's Church
Old St Paul's Church

From 1866, example of the Gothic revival style in timber.
WaterfrontWaterfront
Waterfront

Where I had the most exquisite New Zealand Green Lipped mussels.
Te Papa Tongarewa - Museum of New ZealandTe Papa Tongarewa - Museum of New Zealand
Te Papa Tongarewa - Museum of New Zealand

OK, this is one of the best museums ever. Beautiful modern museum. Full of cool exhibits covering New Zelands biculural heritage, natural history and environment. And it is FREE!
Te Papa Museum - WOWTe Papa Museum - WOW
Te Papa Museum - WOW

World of Wearable (WOW) Art exhibit.
Te Papa MuseumTe Papa Museum
Te Papa Museum

Science Fiction WOW
Dancing on the WaterfrontDancing on the Waterfront
Dancing on the Waterfront

I wanted to upload a video to show you the fun, but, travelblog isn't supporting this right now


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb