The Sights & New Years


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
January 1st 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, 29th
Lize & Maryke took me sightseeing today, Wellington is really beautiful. We started our circumnavigation at Newtown, where Clive & Lize used to live, and from there to Island Bay. I interacted with the wildlife, as is custom, and we could see the Southern Alps on the south island from there.

We drove around to Lyall Bay to watch the planes take off from Wellington Airport. It's weird, standing on a beach seeing planes take off and landing. PS: Go check out some of the crazy landings on Wellington Airport on You Tube!

We cruzed all around the harbour side and finally went up to the lookout point on Mount Victoria. You get the most spectacular view of the city from up here, a definite must see if you ever come this way. Wellington is like a big beach town with a harbour and CBD, its great!

We ended the day with a ton of Fish & Chips from a small shop in Newtown, I think. It was awesome and we ate way too much!

Wednesday, 30th
My time here at Clive & Lize's has been great; I've been eating too much, drinking too much, watching too much TV & playing too much XBOX. It's been great, but I also miss being on the road, I miss being outdoors and in nature. I've been neglecting my relationship with God bit and I can feel it is time to get back to my Journey.

Today I realized that I have changed a lot and I can't go back to my old life! I've seen and tasted a better life, a life close to God and I want more of that! I am, and always will be, in the centre of His love!

Thursday, 31st
We had a great New Years at Dave & Natalie's (Clive & Lize's friends). We ate homemade pies, salads, chips etc. We played "Who's in the bag" which had us all in stitches with laughter. We stood out on the deck for the countdown to 00:00, expecting fireworks that never came. The view of the city lights was awesome though.

I saw the New Year in, a couple of hours before everyone back home and must confess, I missed you all lot! Vicky, I saved my New Years kiss for you baby, I miss you so much!

We left around 4am, in search of something to eat. Courtney Place, which is the main street for pubs, clubs & restaurants, was still packed with tons of happy drunk people. We ran into some kebabs in a dodgy little Middle Eastern place, which I can't remember the name of. The kebab was awesome! We took a taxi home and I slept like a rather large baby.

This is me wishin’ you all the bestestest, awesomestested 2009!



Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb