Wellington- the capital of New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I spent 4 nights in Wellington because I managed to get a ticket to see the All Blacks play France. I was incredibly excited and it was one of the highlights of my time here so far. So I had three days to spend sight seeing before the big game. I had a walk around the city when I first arrived and decided the shops looked good. Although not so good for souvenir shopping. I got some gloves anyway and a New Zealand scarf to wear to the game. It is getting colder the further south we go so I want to try and stay warm!

I also spent a day going around the Museum of New Zealand called Te Papa. It was free and a great museum- very entertaining and modern. There were lots of different sections covering the history and environment of the country as well as a section on the Maori culture which was cool. I like the models and art work.

I also went on a Lord of the Rings tour which was interesting and it was cool to find out about how certain effects were made and hearing some of the behind the scenes gossip! Took a trip up the cable car (more like a tram but called a cable car) It took us up a hill so we could see views of the city and then we had a wander around the botanic gardens at the top.

Our last day was a combination of shopping and getting excited about the rugby. It was a great game with a fantastic atmosphere. The All Blacks thrashed France 61:10. I was happy cos I was supporting them. (Probably cos I knew they were going to win but also cos I'm in their country surrounded by their supporters!) The seats were good too and we got to see the All Blacks perform the Haka facing us which was great. Definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity which I will never forget : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The Silver Fern ballThe Silver Fern ball
The Silver Fern ball

Bit weird how it's just suspended in the sky!
An old Maori village hutAn old Maori village hut
An old Maori village hut

Part of the Maori display at the Te Papa Museum


Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb