Windy Welly


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
May 10th 2005
Published: June 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Wellington on a beautifully sunny day... at a bus station that seemed miles from anywhere. In true backbacker style I then ermm jumped in a taxi with a girl I'd met on the bus and headed off to the hostel. I did consider public transport but well...

I only had a day in Wellington but that was enough to tell me two things, (1) - that I'd really like living and working here and (2) - that I wasn't ready to get a job yet! The city is small, windy but beautifully set around the harbour... lots of hills though so think I'll end up very fit living here. We did manage to get to the cinema - apparently revamped to the sum of $5million for the Lord Of the Rings premier - and it was very swish. They have cheap tuesdays here - $10 or about 4GBP to sit back in big leather seats with lots of leg room.... ohh and if you want to you can buy vino to drink whilst you watch the film!!! Ahh soo much hardship. Anyway seeing all those people in suits made me realise that I'd like to keep travelling for as long as the weather is good so I'm off on the ferry to Picton on the South Island....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 29; qc: 114; dbt: 0.1252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb