WELLINGTON!!!!!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington » Lower Hutt
July 6th 2011
Published: July 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everybody!

I hope everyone had a lovely 4th of July and watched many fireworks for me, turns out the only day one can buy fireworks in Wellington/ New Zealand is November 5th... go figure (Cory you would probably love it here on that day). So I have finally made it to the city that I will be spending a majority of my time and I am in LOVE. The city reminds me of Charleston and Boston because it is smaller then Auckland and very low key and relaxed. The university itself is not in the city but it sits over looking the city on top of mountain. I live in between the city and the university which makes walking up from the city rather difficult because it is literally a vertical incline (I should have a nice butt by the end of the semester though).

I am living in a house/flat with nine other people however there are only four of us right now. Two of the girls of from the US and they are really down to earth and fun. The other kid here, Fin, is a kiwi and very cute but supposedly kiwi boys are all very shy so sometimes he can be awkward. Last night I went to see transformers with him (which will be the first and last movie I see here... they are kind of expensive). When we got to the theater Fin pointed out to me ten guys sitting next to me, they all looked like ripped athletes and I had no idea why he was pointing them out to me, turns out it was the All Blacks! That has been the highlight, celebrity wise, so far. I am hoping to run into a few Hobbits soon, they roam the city in custom all the time .

This past week has been school orientation so I have just been setting up classes and finding my way around campus.

Keep me updated with everything back in the States!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb