Home sweet home.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington Region
September 16th 2012
Published: September 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Going ashoreGoing ashoreGoing ashore

The process of getting people ashore for the evening meal. It could be a little damp.
Well!!!! I have been home for a week and I am feeling the cold, finding it hard to motivate myself and thought I should put something together on the blog so people know that I am still alive. In the past week I have done very little except dwell on my last 3 mths of a fantasy life. And it is a bit like a fantasy life. When you consider that in the time I was in the Greek Islands, we did not see a drop of rain{I did see rain in Norway} or hardly a cloud, we saw some fantastic sights, meet some magic people, had some great sailing, got a great suntan, made some new friends, put on weight, swam every day in water that was so clear you thought that you could stand on the rocks below , only to find that they were 30 feet below you, didn't get sea sick, rode moter scooters into some beautiful places, ate lots and lots of delightful food, drank lots and lots!!! of great beer and red wine, laughed a lot, ate more watermelon in 3 mths than in my entire life, learnt a lot of history, discovered that I
P1020006P1020006P1020006

Not a lot of free board.
am truely unfit and generally had this unbelievable time, I think that most people will understand that it is hard to come back to earth and normality. The norm for a day while in a marina or mooring was to go and see sites, read, swim, sleep and fill the day in doing very little. Then as evening approached, have a couple? of drinks and go to a Tavina or resturant for a meal. When moving from one place to another, we would sail into our destination in the afternoon and the evening procedure would kick in. If anchored out in a bay a meal would be cooked on board, but this was rare when only the guys were on board, but when the girls were with us they produced some great dishes. Sometimes this was nessasary due to being anchored in a bay with no village. I have got a couple of tales to tell,{how I lost my hearing aid, the bag of fruit etc}, so will put those together soon.

So, on the plus side, I'm back home with Di and family and tomorrow I will see Amy Jeremy, little Holly and Ella in Hastings for the
P1020013P1020013P1020013

It is great to be able to step of the boat and have a drink within a few paces.
first time in 3 1/2 mths. I have been into K&S to see every one there{missed some but will catch up} and have done a few things around the house. As Di is in Aussie working, I decided to come to Turangi for a fishing fix. Got here Sunday night, fished in the rain and got one fish and very wet, but unfortuantly the rivers are very flooded and unfishable today. Tomorrow I go to Hastings to see the kids, then I hope to come back to Turangi for a couple more days.

I have decided to keep this blog going as it gives me something to do and I will certainly be doing a lot of travel through out NZ and of course, next year, more overseas. It will of course remind me of what I have done, as my memory fades away with age, and I hope will have a little interest for someone, every now and then, for those that have a look.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

P1000544P1000544
P1000544

A contented Captain
P1000546P1000546
P1000546

A contented crew member
P1000597P1000597
P1000597

A contented lot with food on the table and beer within reach.


Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb