The Crossing - Wellington, New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington Region » Wellington
September 3rd 2016
Published: August 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I had a brief stint in Wellington which is the capitol city of New Zealand. The 300,000 person metropolitan area lies on the southern coast in a sheltered harbour from the Cook Strait which separates the North and South Islands of New Zealand. The city is nice enough and I enjoyed my couple of days here; more so than Auckland. However, like all things New Zealand it is an expensive place. A couple of days walking around in the sun was a nice way to kill a couple of days though before I would drive my car onto the InterIslander Ferry for the crossing to the South Island.

Not to much to write home about in Wellington other than I spent to much money, got a parking ticket (which I have no intention of paying), and developed a head cold. I did however end up at a party of full of Marine Biology PhD students and man do those scientists like to party. Good times all around. My main reason of being here was obviously to cross Cook Strait to get to the South Island, a three hour journey of which I was much looking forward to.

I had never driven a car onto a large transport vessel before and it was kinda fun and definitely different. The crossing was very relaxing and certainly scenic. I just hung out on the deck and soaked in the views of the departing North Island and the arriving South Island amidst stunning emerald green seas. It was however quite windy and a little cold. Arriving in Picton on the South Island I was full of anticipation. If what I have seen so far holds true for the rest of my few weeks down here than I have quite the spectacular road trip ahead of me and I cannot wait to explore what the South has to offer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

soundssounds
sounds

Entering Marlborough Sounds of the South Island
beehivebeehive
beehive

New Zealand's parliamentry building - affectionately known as "The Beehive"
baybay
bay

Beautiful and affluent Oriental Bay in Wellington. Nice cafes, good patios, cold beers. Gone however are the South American days of $2 lunches and $0.80 drinks. An afternoon here cost me over $35.


26th September 2016

Thank you very much for your articles. Very exciting!

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 33; qc: 121; dbt: 0.1199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb