A Year at Pauatahanui Inlet


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington Region » Porirua
August 10th 1995
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Stormy EveningStormy EveningStormy Evening

Looking toward Porirua Harbour and the entrance to the Pauatahanui Inlet
Note: This is a journal entry from when I was an exchange student in 1994-1995. The photos have been scanned from the original prints.


Living around the Pauatahanui Inlet for a year was amazing. It is such a beautiful place, whether enshrouded in mist, or peppered with yachts for the Sunday Regatta. I loved to look at it by moonlight, when it was all silvery and peaceful.

The weekly Rotary meetings I attended were at the Paremata Boat Club, so I got to watch the last light of day on the Inlet once a week.

I was lucky enough to go out on the water one Sunday during the Regatta, not on a sailboat but on one of the zodiacs that 'patrols' during the regatta.

I got a sunburn after spending one sunny spring afternoon wading in Brown's Bay with some friends from school.

I spent one unlucky day studying crabs on the mudflats for a biology class--unlucky because it poured with rain, and all of my observations were washed right off the page, and I had nothing to turn in. My classmates and I were soaked to the skin, and it took a lot
ReflectionsReflectionsReflections

The water was like glass on the day I left New Zealand
of convincing to get our teachers to let us go straight home to dry off and warm up, instead of back to school.

On my last morning in New Zealand, the inlet was like glass, reflecting a blue sky and fluffy clouds. It was so beautiful, and rather fitting, because I was doing a lot of reflecting myself that morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Boat ShedsBoat Sheds
Boat Sheds

Boat Sheds on Pauatahanui Inlet
Snow on the HillsSnow on the Hills
Snow on the Hills

It's really unusual to get snow this far north, but on July 17, 1995 it snowed in Wellington!
Snow on the Hills Snow on the Hills
Snow on the Hills

It's really unusual to get snow this far north, but on July 17, 1995 it snowed in Wellington!
Snow on the HillsSnow on the Hills
Snow on the Hills

It's really unusual to get snow this far north, but on July 17, 1995 it snowed in Wellington!
ReflectionsReflections
Reflections

The water was like glass on the day I left New Zealand
ReflectionsReflections
Reflections

The water was like glass on the day I left New Zealand


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 32; qc: 136; dbt: 0.1531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb