New Zealand Glassworks, Whanganui


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wanganui
March 19th 2023
Published: March 19th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Netflix managed to convince me that trying glass-blowing would be something worth putting on my bucket list. That would be the long list where things don't get crossed off very often. However, my landlady heard me mention this and sent me to New Zealand Glassworks in Wanganui to make a glass paperweight.

I arrived early and was able to watch the gentleman ahead of me making his paperweight. Being able to view this from the gallery was great for all the customers but quickly convinced me it was going to be far too hot for me and way beyond my capabilities due to having Sjogren's and Lupus etc. I explained my fears to the lovely staff who assured me it would be fine. They would do whatever I needed them to do. So, with great trepidation, I gave in and I am so glad I did.

Working with liquid glass is an experience that is difficult to describe. It feels alive. I had chosen the colours and style I wanted and, with plenty of assistance with the lifting, created a paperweight I love. I cannot believe I made it. I also cannot believe how heavy it is! The weird part was watching it over several days as it continued to change colour slightly.

Would I do it again? No, I have so many other things to tick of my bucket list and only needed to do this once. Would I recommend others to go and do this? Absolutely! Not just because of being able to work with glass but because of the staff. It really comes down to customer service, respect and helpfulness. They have no idea how much I appreciated their support.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb