Motor Vessel Wairua, Wanganui


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wanganui » Wanganui
January 16th 2021
Published: January 16th 2021
Edit Blog Post

https://www.facebook.com/motorvesselwairua

Let's face it, 2020 was a shocker of a year. I woke on New Year's Day 2021 just feeling very grateful that I had survived 2020. I thought I would start 2021 slowly so I had a look at FB. Five minutes later I was running out the door with my backpack on, my camera in my hand and my 4-legged assistant tucked under my arm. He is always happy to head off on an adventure and I had found a brilliant one for us to start the year with. The Motor Vessel Wairua was offering trips between the bridges on the Whanganui River at the amazing price of $10 per adult and $5 per child (children under 2 and dogs were free). This was the best start to 2021 that I could have asked for. The fact my assistant was allowed onboard made me incredibly happy and grateful.

I realised I had never been on the river before (and neither had my assistant). What a great opportunity for everyone as it was affordable! Most of the people waiting to board said the same thing. People were coming from all directions and everyone was smiling and laughing, ready to start the New Year in a positive way.

The crew were fantastic. Everyone was extremely professional, knowledgeable and friendly and we were off. The plan was to travel between the City Bridge and Dublin Bridge twice as there were jet boats racing on the river. But ....... the jet boats weren't racing on our trip so we were taken right up the to Rail Bridge at Aramoho.

My assistant loved it. He stood on my knee with the breeze blowing his ears back. Okay, half way through he decided he had had enough of everyone cuddling him and he had a nap on my knee but that was fine. And he was not the only dog onboard. Dog owners: here is the one activity you can do in my city with your 4-legged companion.

I cannot thank the owners enough. What an incredible thing to do for my city. The fact so many people were queueing for the next trip says it all. We all genuinely appreciated the opportunity and the kindness. If you are coming to Wanganui you need to check out the trips they provide as being out on the river is magical.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb