My First WWOOFing Adventure; Part Four


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waikato » Tokoroa
October 29th 2010
Published: October 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My First WWOOFing Adventure; Part Four

October 29th

The Fourth and Final Day

I continued to work on restoring the sail boat this morning. It was hot and very sunny and I was thankful for the hose and my water bottle. I also found out that my hiking boots really are as waterproof as they claim to be.

After lunch we all took a short rest because all of us were exhausted. Then it was time for me to start heading back to Hamilton. We got the whole group together (including the dog) for a quick photo and off to the bus station we went. I was surprised that Eric stayed with me until the bus came. He even went up to the driver to make sure I was getting on the right bus. Hmm, he really turned out to be a pretty nice guy. I’ll be sure to send him a thank you card.

The bus ride back to Hamilton was so beautiful that I didn’t even want to get off the bus when I’d reached my destination. The emerald green hills were absolutely stunning with fluffy little lambs sprinkled across them. They went on as far as the eye could see and then faded into a gray-blue haze in the distance. The sun was gleaming through the clouds in rays and I swear I actually saw two horses hugging! They were on either side of a wooden fence in their pastures and leaning over with their heads nuzzled up against the other’s neck! Yup, I’d say New Zealand is the prettiest place on earth but sometimes I’m not even sure I’m on earth anymore. I wish I could say I had pictures of this part of the country but my camera was in my bag under the bus and taking pictures through a bus window never really works very well. So you’ll just have to take my word for it. I feel like I came here desperately wanting to fall in love. Not romantic love or with any certain person, but fall in love with a place, culture, landscape, view... As the bus took a corner to reveal a spectacular view on the other side of a hill my stomach actually filled with butterflies. I think that’s what falling in love with a landscape must feel like. I can’t wait for the four day hike Fern and I will be going on in a couple of days. I know there will be some incredible sights there too! And after you’ve scaled a few mountains to see them they’re even more extraordinary!

Well, my first WWOOFing experience complete I’d say it was a success! I’m really looking forward to doing it again! To any of you interested in doing it, I highly recommend it!



Advertisement



29th October 2010

"People in cities dont understand/falling in love with the land" The whole time I was reading this blog, I was singing "Moon on the Meadow" in my head! I am so glad you love it :) Miss you xx

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb