Turangi Day 10 - Mountain To Water


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Turangi
November 23rd 2015
Published: November 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

We awoke to beautiful weather...fantastic! Today was the day for mountain biking and white water rafting. The New Zealand weather gods looked down upon us and smiled. We shall give thanks by enjoying the day and appreciating the beauty before us!

First thing first, back down to the i-site to purchase and sign up for our transport for tomorrow's hike. No problems there, now our day can begin.

We head into the Tongarrio River Rafting headquarters and are met by our two guides, Tom and Justin. Jeff and I were the only ones signed up for the mountain biking tour that day so it was just us and the guides...sweet! It was also reassuring for me to know that I would be making a fool of myself to only 3 other people rather than more. Although Jeff has done mountain biking, and actually owns a mountain bike, I have only done road cycling. As it turns out there's a big difference people, big difference!

Fitted for our bikes and wetsuits, we were off to the trail. Luckily, we were doing the Tongarrio River Trail which is a great trail for beginners...me! Justin, one of our guides, was in training and this was his first trail ride with this company. Justin and I became best buds...sorry Justin, but Kristine was left in the dust so he was back there with me. Scenic beauty non-stop but this mountain biking thing was not my cup of tea! At one point I did yell to Jeff while we were climbing up the side of the mountain that I was getting champagne with my high tea in a couple of days!

Tom, "Kristine, would you like me to carry your bike across the stream?" Me, "Why yes Tom, that would be lovely!" Tom, "Kristine, would you like me to push your bike up the hill with mine?" Me, "Tom, you are an angel, I'll not say no!"

Across a couple of streams, down rocky paths, climbing over several downed trees, over several bridges and lots of climbing up, up and up! Jeff enjoyed this morning's activity...good on him! I was just thankful I did take a fall from my bike!

We came to our stopping point and were fed quite well while waiting for the rafting crew and other rafters to arrive. Before we knew it, our wetsuits were on and we were ready to raft!

Jeff and I immediately stepped forward when they asked for two volunteers. We got to sit in the front, perfect! We did grade 3 rapids for about 2 1/2 hours. Views were spectacular, rapids exciting and the commentary from our guide, very educational. We were able to see the rare blue duck several times, trout in the water and...wait for it...Gollum's cave! Yeah Erik, we saw that!

The weather couldn't be beat, the rafting was amazing and our guides (all 3 of them that day) fantastic! Rafting might be something we do again in Queenstown. Also, happy to report, the raft did not flip and nobody fell out!

Back at base, we ate sandwiches and viewed the pictures taken of our day...we bought the lot!

Another day done and dusted...another succeasful adventure...another set of marvelous memories!


Advertisement



24th November 2015

Pictures
And where are the pictures?!?!? Your killing me here ?
24th November 2015

no WiFi
We'll upload pictures when we get to Wellington, promise!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb