Heading due south


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
March 18th 2016
Published: March 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today is a travel day, first bussing it from Taupo back to Auckland on another Golden $1 Ticket and then catching a flight due south to Christchurch on New Zealand's South Island.

Driver Rameesh, with an impressive moustache, welcomes us on board and goes through the Intercity rules which include having no hot, greasy food or hot drinks on board. A tidy coach is obviously top priority. This is to be a 5 hour journey so I'm surprised when we stop at one place at 11.05am and find this is to be our lunch stop. I know the driver needs a break but LUNCH?! There's a selection of greasy food cafes to choose from so I force down some chips and go back to wait for Rameesh to let us back on board and off we go again.

As we get going I overhear two white-haired old ladies discussing the smell on the bus. 'Can you smell something funny? I think it's marijuana!!'. Too right it is. A young lad stinks of weed and is grinning like a loon, laughing randomly at anything that moves. Life lesson to anyone who gets high or drunk. You don't sound as scintillating, witty, clever and charming as you think you do. To anyone sober you sound like a pathetic, brain-dead moron who can hardly string a sentence together. Harsh, but oh so true.

The journey passes relatively quickly with interesting scenery to watch as we go by. I spot Danny the hells angel Hobbiton bus driver bringing some people back from their tour and notice we are driving through the town with the massive sheep and dog tin shops with their tin guardian Osama Bin Laden - well that's who Danny said it was. I guess others might say it's the good shepherd tending his flock!

As we approach the outskirts of Auckland we coincide with school chuck out time. It's so sad to see such a high proportion of really obese young people. It seems they are the norm rather than the exception here.

We make it to the Intercity Auckland bus stop just 10 minutes late, which isn't bad considering the traffic coming into the city. I decide to get the very next Skybus to the airport in case the traffic gets any worse. As it turns out I needn't have worried as my flight is delayed. Eventually I get to my hostel just before they close reception at 10pm, my key in an envelope ready to leave on the desk as a late arrival. Luckily my dorm hasn't yet turned off the lights so I get a chance to sort out my stuff before collapsing into my very squeaky bed. At least it's a bottom bunk this time. Goodnight Christchurch.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb