Rain, Rain, Go Away...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
May 3rd 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Huka FallsHuka FallsHuka Falls

That's me!
Inclement weather.
Wet & grey. Reminds me of home.
Rain, rain, go away...

It was a late start today since check out was at 10AM and our bus didn't depart until 1:30PM. Jasper and I walked around Rotorua for a bit. I didn't want to spend money on the Museum (It’s a $10 admission fee. I will wait for the National Museum, Te Papa in Wellington) and wanted to save my $15 and decided not to go to the hot pools at the Polynesian Spa. Plus I didn't feel like lugging wet swim gear around with me.

Since it is raining we likely will not be stopping at Huka Falls and will get to Taupo around 3:30 this afternoon. Guess it'll be an easy afternoon relaxing and figuring out the next few days activities...skydiving is out for today but hopefully it will clear up in the next couple of days for me to be able to jump from a plane! Anxious and excited all at the same time...

I do know that I'm not up for the six to seven hour hike over the Tongariro Crossing in icy, wintery conditions. More of a summer time thing for me.
Huka FallsHuka FallsHuka Falls

And these are the falls. Now that's a lot of water!
It is supposed to be a spectacular hike taking you by a lot of sights used in the LOTR films. Looks like an easy peasy relaxing few days are in the cards for this chick.

Paul who runs Burke's Backpackers Lodge here in Taupo is super nice and friendly. He gave me the VIP discount plus there is no charge for the bedding. Sweet as! Great that I don't have to sleep in a bunk bed as well. Mind you I'm close to the bathroom. But that's okay since there is a counter sort of blocking the entrance.

I'll wander into town to see what I can find out at the information centre. Hopefully tomorrow will have nicer weather for skydiving. If not, I'll go on Thursday if it is nice cuz on Friday I'm outta here! Basically two more chances. Geesh, can you tell I have skydiving on my mind??

I had a walk about town and it looks like there aren't too many free things to do in town besides a couple of walks and window shopping...could be dangerous. LOL Actually it will be good to finally sit down and start figuring out my Aussie trip...that's less than two weeks away!

Jasper is devastated and depressed that he will not be able to do his Tongariro Crossing trek tomorrow. Hopefully it will be open again on Thursday? Soon I will be "All By Myself" when I head off for Whakapapa and then Wellington as Jasper heads North to Auckland to celebrate his birthday...so young at 20, bye bye to his teanage years. haha

It's pretty quiet at the hostel. Perhaps because it is off season. I chatted with two Swiss girls that are on a six-month trip. Sounds like they're slowly running out of funds and will rush through the South Island. They're not the happiest with the Magic Bus and are not that awed with NZ...sort of like Switzerland...at least that's what they were telling me since I've never been to Switzerland myself! Oh well! I still love NZ! It was still really nice to chat with them though.


Advertisement



28th September 2005

january february is best time to visit

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb