New Zealands Biggest Lake - Taupo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
April 19th 2013
Published: May 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

For once I enjoy a lovely sleep, as there are only 4 of us in the room, and we all did the walk yesterday, no-one was up. Had a leisurely start, checking out and then heading to the little café to treat myself to poached egg and bacon for breakfast. I then had to kill time in this tiny place, until the bus out at 1.35pm, so I walked round the village a few times and then sat outside, reading up on the next few places I wish to visit.

Alex is also heading to Taupo and in the same hostel there, and we arrive at 4pm, in the beautiful sunshine! We are checking into the hostel which when I hear my name, and there is Dave, he had also arrived today, everyone is on the same trail through the country!

After introductions are made, we all decide there is one thing that needs to be done….swim in Lake Taupo, as it is the largest lake in New Zealand. So despite the hostel staff thinking we are crazy as it is so called, the three of us head off. We find a good spot and run straight in....and to my surprise it really isn’t that cold at all. Warm enough even to just splash around and enjoy it for half an hour. Had a nice chilled eve, wondered round the town, which is quite large for NZ standards and really nice.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb