We only went in to swap a dvd!!!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
October 22nd 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We left a very sunny Napier and made the drive of a few hours to Taupo, stopping off for a peppermint tea and bacon sarnie (All made in A** Hole of course - I love living in a camper!!) at Huka falls which were very beautiful. From here we went to the Craters of the Moon Geothermal park but the rain started lashing it down so having bought a ticket and being allowed to come back the next day we set off in search of a 'spacestation' to swap some of our dvd's. This is the bit where I will hand over to Mr Kemp as this is his story not mine!!!

In my typical fashion, I ended up going in for one thing and leaving with something else; in this case the simple task of swapping two dvd's turned into jumping out of a plane at 16,000 feet! And what an absolute joy it was! Freefalling through the clouds looking out at the surrounding snow capped mountains and the incredible lake Taupo (Which incidentally is the same size as Singapore) was a truly exhilirating experience to say the least. Would I do it again................... In a heartbeat! Awesome - although I didn't realise at the time just what I put Abi through, bless her, I was met with the biggest smile I have ever seen on her face when I reappeared safely intact! I really felt like I was walking on air for the next few hours after I got down. T shirt, photo's and DVD's in hand we headed to Taupo for dinner and a film. By this time ab had got some sort of colour back into her face and I had regained the feeling in my hands - it was damn cold up there!!!!!


I'm back!!!! It was very stressful and my feet stayed firmly on the floor!!!! We had to wait a few hours before he could go up and Tel was so relaxed, I was a total wreck! You won't get me doing that, but fair play, he had absolutely no fear at all although there is one slightly telling photo I took not long before he went up which does show a small amount of terror!!! Tel had wanted to do a bungy or skydive somewhere so I wasr really chuffed he did it and I was in awe a little of just how easily he made it look, I guess he does like to think he's James Bond some days!


I have got a video of it but I can't figure out how to upload it at the moment as it's too big a file!!!!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

All smiles.............All smiles.............
All smiles.............

He is sat on a mans lap tho!!!!


5th November 2009

nz adventure
fly out to auckland next week to c our daughter - husband and daughter want 2 tandem skydive -u make it sound like a good idea!
8th November 2009

Nutter
I repeat, nutter, but truely Terry stylie!
15th November 2009

Hello honeymooners!!
You are certainly having one hell of a trip!! Good on you!! Being a former Kiwi I love looking at familiar scenery - it certainly is a pretty country isn't it even and sometimes especially when its snowing. We have made it home and getting back into milking cows and all the jobs that need doing - we are very unfit from sitting on a beach chair for hours on end. Our first grandchild is now overdue but will be induced next Thursday if she hasn't produced before then. We are looking forward to saying hello!! Have a safe trip back - have so enjoyed reading your blog. Best regards Tony and Dianne Craven

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb