Falling, yes I am falling . . .


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
February 22nd 2006
Published: February 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Beam me down, SkotyBeam me down, SkotyBeam me down, Skoty

No turning back now...
Interesting statistic: it is safer to jump out of a plane in midair, than it is to finish the flight in a more orthodox fashion. Skydiving is also safer than travelling in a car.

These kind of facts are comforting when you are about to hurl yourself out of what appears to be a perfectly good plane. 12 thousand feet up is quite high. 12 thousand feet seems especially high when you are looking down at the scenery below from an open doorway. With a word from the man who is going to save my life in the next few moments, we jump. The feeling is so surreal, to be falling and have nothing beneath you. We freefall for about 45 seconds. I scream my head off, partly with joy and partly with fear. It's a bit like that scene in Bill & Ted's when they are falling for so long, that at one point they stop, look at each other and then resume screaming again. My screams run out before the parachute opens. Once the initial shock and panic subsides it is the most sublime feeling. The closest one can get to flying (and then living!).

Once the parachute opens we stop falling with a jolt, and begin a slow glide down to earth. This is the time to really enjoy the view, all 3 minutes or so. A quick check to see if my husband has also made it, and all is deeply well with the world. My saviour seems keen to show me a few tricks so we twirl and spin down to terra firma.

I have jumped out of a plane before, in my younger and sillier days. Now I am just older and still silly. That time I had to do it alone, albeit if from a mere 1,200 feet. But that was far scarier, though much less time to feel the amazement of freefall.

Now mum and dad, and mum-and-dad-in-law I know you are not going to particularly like this entry, which is why we are telling you now we have made it back down in one piece, and not before. There is undeniably something about the Kiwi psyche that craves the pure adrenalin hit, and it is definitely catching. They are so chilled and laidback for most of the time, but then this contrasts sharply with all the crazy, maniacal
Alive Alive O, TaupoAlive Alive O, TaupoAlive Alive O, Taupo

Now just how fetching is that helmet, heh?
sports they have on offer here. Before you think we are completely mad, we have no plans to go 'zorbing' (huge plastic ball that rolls down a hill with you inside) or do a bungee jump (just seems too unnatural, that huge jolt to the body and all that time upside down). We also passed on the chance to upgrade our skydive to 15 thousand feet (oxygen mask compulsory). See, we are actually quite discerning and sensible!

The professional skydivers at the centre we used were an interesting bunch. Caracatures of extreme maleness and blackly comic. While I was waiting for my pro, another asked me who I was jumping with, I replied 'Mike S', 'Oh Mike Schlerosis' was the deadpan reply. Steve was asked by his pro 'have you done this before?' to which he replied 'no, have you?'. 'Yes' he was assured, 'this is my 13th time'. A later exchange on the parachute down went as follows:

Skoty: 'I am just going to loosen off your leg harness so they are not so tight. Let me know if there is anthing else I can do to make you more comfortable.'

Steve: 'Well what about the jumpsuit? Red really isn't my colour.'

Skoty: 'Sorry, they have to be red. To cover the blood.'


M x


Advertisement



23rd February 2006

zorbing
bring on the zorbing. Zorbing, zorbing, zorbing!!!
24th February 2006

soapy zorbing
My brother informs me that you can have a bucket of soapy water added to your "zorb" and a number of young girls (or presumably boys) to create slippery fun for all the family.* I can't understand why you have rejected this form of entertainment? * He did later confess that the lubricant made zorbing rather hazardous if you are considering children
24th February 2006

YOU ARE SO BRAVE. DID YOU FALL WITH YOUR MOUTHS OPEN?
26th February 2006

Soapy zorbing
Soapy sorbing! Soapy Zorbing! Soapy zorbing! Wet... with pictures... Soapy Zorb grnnngh.
26th February 2006

Bungee Schmungee
My sister did the biggest bungee jump ever in NZ from a cable car (I am not suggesting by this that you are a couple of pussy wimp outs. Oh No). You can get a video made of yourself looking more frightened than you ever will again in your life so it is good value for money.
27th February 2006

Sally!
It only took you 4 months to post a comment on our blog. We had bets on. You've beaten Amy though who has yet to make an appearance . . .
27th February 2006

Message from Steven for David
Steve says he'll do the zorbing, soapy if you wish, photographed and published on this very blog, in exchange for the name of your soon to be born 2nd child . . . Just how much d'you wannit?
19th March 2006

WOW! You're braver than me!
Rather you than me! I would had to have been pushed! (oh and drugged before I got on the plane!) You are certainly the adrenalin junkie out of the two of us. Nan Ives will be turning in her grave and thankfully think mum and dad have forgotten this website address! How much not to remind them??!!

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb