WOW!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
February 9th 2006
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

WOW!!! Where to begin.... I've been in New Zealand for 12 days now and I am having such a great time. Within the first 5 minutes of leaving Auckland and heading into some of the New Zealand countryside I could see why my dad loved it here so much. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking and everything I've seen has my dad written all over it!
I arrived in Auckland on January 30 and left right away the next morning to start exploring New Zealand. The first day we traveled to Whitianga where we did a bit of sea kayaking around Cathedral Cove. The next day we headed for Rotorua, but stopped off to hike up to Wairere Falls. Once arriving in Rotorua we headed out to the Tamakiki Village for an unique Maori cultural evening. This was quite the experience, but difficult to describe. The next day I decided to start into the adrenaline activities New Zealand is known for.... I started off the morning with sledging. I don't know if any of you saw this on the amazing race a few years ago, but it was tons of fun. Basically you hold on to a floatation device that kinda looks like the front of a bobsled, and then you "float" yourself through whitewater rapids! What a rush. That afternoon I followed this up with whitewater rafting. I think this would have paled in comparison to the sledging if it hadn't been for the 7 meter waterfall we went over!!! Miraculously our boat was the only one that didn't flip over. However that did mean that we had to act as rescue boat for the other two that did flip. That evening Raewyn Potaka, a friend of our family, came and picked me up at my hostel and toured me around the area. It was great to meet the Potaka family and their hospitality was outstanding.
The following day I hopped back on the bus and we headed for Waitomo. Now Mom, if you had difficulty reading my activities in Rotorua, it may be best if you skip down a couple paragraphs before you continue reading. Anyway... In Waitomo we went Black Water Rafting. We started this adventure with a 100 meter abseil, which is getting into a harness and lowering yourself into a cave on a rope! From there we walked further into the cave before hooking ourselves onto another cable and riding a zip line through the absolute pitch-black darkness not knowing where the end was, how long it would take to get there, or what awaited you at the other end. After that we turned our headlamps back on, grabbed some inner tubes and jumped off the ledge to the water below. Then came the easy part. We paddled ourselves along the underground river, admiring all the different rock formations. When we reached the end our guide had us turn off our headlamps and we floated back in the dark, so we could admire all the glowworms affixed to the ceiling. Once we got back to our jumping in point we ditched the tubes and walked/swam back through the cave until we reached the exit. Which turned out to be a set of waterfalls. That's right we climbed though a series of waterfalls until we reached daylight again. I wasn't sure how I was going to handle the confined spaces of the cave, but this was definitely an experience unlike anything I've ever done before. I absolutely loved it and would highly recommend it!
(Probably, or make that definitely, should skip this paragraph too Mom) - The next morning we headed to Taupo and I decided I might as well continue with my theme of adrenaline activities and take the plunge for a tandem skydive! That's right... I threw myself out of a plane at 12,000 ft!!! I didn't think I would actually be able to go through with this, but I'm so glad that I did. Falling through a cloud was one of the most amazing feelings! And once the parachute opened, after the 46 second freefall, I had the most amazing view of the lake and the surrounding mountains and bush land. What a rush!!!
(I think it's safe for you to start reading again now Mom) - That evening I was lucky enough to again experience the hospitality and generosity of the Potaka family, as they were staying at their vacation property in Taupo for the long weekend. The following day Raewyn took me to the Craters of the Moon geothermal park and friends of theirs took me out in their boat to see the Maori-inspired rock carvings on the other side of Lake Taupo. We finished out the day with a dip in the river where the hot springs empty into the river. Very relaxing!
I've spent the last four days traveling the East Cape, which is a more remote area of New Zealand and the scenery was absolutely amazing. I even got up at 5:30am to see the sunrise from one of the most easterly points in the world! Incredible.
Today I was suppose to do an amazing hike, but unfortunately they had to cancel it due to poor weather conditions. I decided to take advantage of this break and up-date you all on my recent adventures. Sorry this was such a long journal entry. Thanks to those of you who have persevered and read all the way to the end. Hopefully my next blog entry will be shorter and less heart-wrenching for my parents to read! Hope all is well with everyone at home and I look forward to reading your comments!


Advertisement



10th February 2006

I'm not that conservative!!
Glad you are having a great time, still!! I would not choose your activities, but that is up to you. I decided to write a comment before I read this blog to Grandma. It was good to hear from you, but I also got your email. These activities are definitely for the young. I would like to make the trip you have just been on, but I would not choose the activities you are doing....BIG SURPRISE!! I can't believe you have already been gone as long as you have, the time seems to have flown by. Don't worry about spending your time updating the blog...just enjoy the time you have away...tell us about it later. Love, Mom and Terry
10th February 2006

Your mom is not the only one you are terrifying! I was going to get the boys to read all your adventures but I've decided what happened to Kaye down under can stay down under! I'm going to relax because i think you've already done just about everything. Enjoy the rest of your month, Kelli, Larry and boys
10th February 2006

wow.
you're amazing. truly.
10th February 2006

Wild girl!
Hey Girl! I never thought you were so wild! I know where my next vacation's going to be! N.Z sounds awesome! But where are the pictures? We're all dying to see pics from the other side of the world! Well, take care and come back all in one piece. V.
10th February 2006

Wow is right!
You are completely nuts!!! But we're glad you are having such a great adventure. We're pretty much home bodies so it's great to "travel" with you and Doug while staying safely in Taber.
13th February 2006

Kaye the adrenalin junkie
Nice work Kaye!! Sounds like an epic trip! You sure are getting the most out of your time there.....and making me want to check it out!! Take er easy and keep it real! Doug

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb