SKYDIVE


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We have been trying to do a skydive the passed couple of days in Taupo, but it has been cancelled a few times because of the weather. But this morning the weather is gorgeous so we were able to do our SKYDIVE - WOW!!!

It was amazing, it was me, katie, sarah, and 2 Irish guys all went up in the plane with our tandem instructor and also a camera man each who took a dvd and photos of us while we were jumping. My tandem instructor was Canadian and he was so nice - even though he kept joking about not harnessing me up correctly!

The plane flew up for about 20 minutes to 15,000 feet and then the door opened and suddenly one of the Irish guys in front of me was gone, and it was my turn. I was strangely calm but did have a moment of panic when i had to sit with my legs hanging out of the plane, and it felt like the wind was actually pulling me out. Then we were falling through the sky for 70 seconds, it was absolutely fantastic! The view was awesome, and it just felt great. The camera guy kept grabbing my hand and spinning us around and stuff. Then after 70 seconds my instructor (John) pulled the toggle and we flew up into the sky and the parachute opened (thank god!), then we floated (fast) over the lake, you could see the mountains too. At the end i had to lift my legs up and we skidded across the grass on our bums.


I LOVED SKYDIVING!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Flying!Flying!
Flying!

I forgot to look at the camera man


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb