Mount Taranaki


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taranaki
March 23rd 2010
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

After the stunning Tongariro Crossing, I wanted to go to Mount Taranaki, another volcano. I drove there via a beautiful route through the North Island's countryside and coastline. Although we all know New Zealand by the high number of sheep, there are quite a lot of cows to be found here, too!

After a few hours of driving, I arrived in New Plymouth, the biggest city of the region. From there, Mount Taranaki became visible. Still slightly covered in clouds, I could not make up its true shape yet. But I was driving along the south-west coast of the North Island, which runs around the mountain, so I was going to see it from pretty much every angle. As it got later in the day, I got to see more and more of the mountain, and by sunset, only a small cloud was covering part of the mountain. After a night in the town of Harewa, I got up early and was lucky to see the mountain again, but now with clear skies! Beautiful! I realised that this mountain was the mountain we saw from the Tongariro summit a day earlier, about 130km away!

Next on is New Zealand's capital, Wellington.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



26th March 2010

thanks
Thanks for your travel descriptions and photos. You are a great communicator with text and are even more eloquent with your photographs. Chuck

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 24; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb