RTW (7) - New Zealand, North Island: You have ze smallest room in Rotorua


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
October 5th 2013
Published: December 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hi all!



After spending some time with my family in the south, I flew up to Auckland to spend a few days exploring Māori and geothermal activity (#GeographyYAY).



Flying up in the morning I spent the afternoon of the first day seeing most of Auckland - starting with the port area, before making my way over to the Domain, where the Auckland War Memorial Museum was located, and then over to Mount Eden - a dormant volcano that has the highest point in, and gives the best free 360˚ view of Auckland - one thing I really noticed being how much hillier Auckland was compared to Christchurch!



The following morning I took a coach over to Rotorua - home to the most geothermal and Māori activity accessible. Arriving in blissful sunshine I checked into my hotel, where I was told by a German that I had "ze smallest room in Rotorua", which was in fact no larger than a walk-in wardrobe...not that it mattered, as I was there just one night and it was perfectly comfortable! After treating myself to another piercing to mark the halfway mark of my trip, I went
Māori ArtMāori ArtMāori Art

Te Puia
off to explore the local area and seeing my first open hot springs that were only 212˚C, and getting lovely whiffs of Sulphur, I eventually ended up at the supermarket where I decided to cook my own food - in the end I opted for Schnitzel and pasta, whilst wearing a Berlin T-Shirt and surrounded by Germans...just like old times!



The following day I went off to Te Puia - the home of the Māori Geothermal activity in Rotorua, where I got to experience Geysers, Mudpools, Māori culture, and see a Kiwi bird - ticking off nearly all of my checklist for the country, and well worth the entrance fee. I then took an afternoon coach back to Auckland, and spent my last night in the city before flying off to destination number 8 - Fiji!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb