Geothermal Wonders


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
May 2nd 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Steamy bridge.Steamy bridge.Steamy bridge.

That's me on the steamy lookout bridge at the Geothermal park that popped up a couple of years ago. Behind me is our tour guide Jay.
Touring with Jay
Hot thermal activities
Kerosene Creek dip.

I can't seem to sleep in later than 7AM and just start getting restless after that time. Perhaps it is just that wanting to get into the bathroom and not having to wait. lol Could also be because there are 10 of us in this room and only one bathroom. I had a later start today since our 1/2 day tour didn't start until 9:30.

Originally just Jasper and I booked a tour but at the last minute Paul decided to join us as well. More the merrier! Our bus driver Mike joined us as well. Our tour guide Jay used to be a Kiwi Experience driver "back in the day". He was pretty laidback and not the most motivated but we still got to see a few things that we otherwise wouldn't have seen since we don't have any transport of our own. i.e. a car! We walked to the top of Rainbow Mountain which gave us spectacular views over Rotorua, the Lake and also some of the geothermal wonders of the area like the hot boiling waters, bubbling mud pools and sulphur smells and steam. Mind you all
Rolling hillsRolling hillsRolling hills

as seen from the lookout on top of the hill.
of Rotorua smells like sulphur. I betcha egg sales in Rotorua are not that high. haha

The best was last where we went to Kerosene Creek and took a little dip in the warm waters. It was really nice going into the warm waters and just chill for a bit. It was also cool to watch the sunrays/beams streaming through the misty waters.

We got back in time to wish Anna, Michelle, Alison and Paul a happy journey as they were continuing on the bus with Mike. Also, to the other four Europeans whom I had chatted to only a little bit. Then it was just Jasper and myself left in Rotorua. What to do? For me it was straight to the shower to try and get that sulphur smell off of me and then have something for lunch. Nothing too exciting. Then while we waited for Jasper's laundry to be done I started sorting out my stuff yet again. Once that was all sorted we went out for a bit of a walkabout town to see what we could find out at the info centre for tomorrow mornings free time. Also, I wanted to find out what there is to do in Taupo since I will be there for three nights. We also walked to the Lake...not too exciting. Perhaps because it was starting to get dark. Our other exciting stop on our walkabout was to the grocery store and then McD's for a 50 cent ice cream cone.

On the way back to the hostel we walked through the Geothermal Park (I can't remember the name.) since it is right beside our hostel. I dilly dallied around the room while Jasper went to the spa pool in our hostel. I didn't want to go in because I didn't think having three showers in one day would be a good thing for my skin. 😊 Before I knew it, it was time to make some dinner. I've decided to have a quiet night in tonight since I haven't really done that in a while. It will be interesting to meet some new bus passengers tomorrow...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.131s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb