Bridging Cultures Program


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
February 20th 2012
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This past week we had our bridging cultures program through AustraLearn. The majority of our days were spent in Rotorua. Here we had an adventure day (I went white water rafting and rode in an OGO), we went caving in Waitomo, and we had a community day (planting trees at Hannah's Bay with a nearby 6th grade class. Each of these days were absolutely amazing. For rafting we went down the highest commercially rafted waterfall in the world at 7 meters or about 22 feet. When we went caving we repelled down a 60ft drop (as well as other smaller ones) and crawled/walked/climbed/squeezed through the cave. The community was also super fun because we got to spend time with some of the local kids. They were all super cute and two of them asked me why I had hair on my arms and why I didn't shave it! ha Another event we attended during the week was the hungi dinner. This is a Maori tradition prepared only for special occassions. The food is steamed underground for the day and it was so delicious! I really enjoyed the Bridging cultures program and made some good friends because of it!! I'm going to miss spending time with all of them since I'm all moved into my new flat for the semester in Auckland and some of them went to school in Wellington!



**Sorry it's not letting me add photos. Apparently I don't have the right pluggins.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb