Day 83: Auckland to Paihia


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland
February 20th 2011
Published: February 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



Since my bus to Paihia didn't leave until mid-afternoon, I spent the day with Kevan and his family. I'll be looking forward to spending my last three days here with them. Kevan lent me a digital camera (in case I can't recharge my own) and even provided some Super Glue to fix my walking stick -- a great relief, as it had been coming apart every two minutes or so since its unscheduled dip in the Pacific.

My bus to Paihia was an express with no rest stops, and I fretted over that. Fortunately, so many people got off at Whangarei, three hours into the trip, that the rest of us were allowed to get off and use the restroom. I think I could have made it, but it was a definite relief to stop.

When I got back from the restroom, I thought I'd lost my sunglasses' lens again, but it turned up at the last minute, as I was getting off the bus.

I did have to take a taxi in Paihia, and even at that I got to Captain Bob's Beach House only as night was falling. It seems fairly nice upon first impression, though very strict. I'll see how I feel about it in the morning. No opportunity to ask for a heater tonight; I hope I won't be too cold.

It was too dark to see much of Paihia. The countryside between Auckland and Paihia was mainly rolling hills, with a few full-fledged mountains. At one point we went through a tunnel beneath one of the full-fledged mountains. Interestingly, there were actually two tunnels through that mountain, one for each lane of traffic.







Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb