introduction to trip


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Napier
April 25th 2018
Published: April 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

In a week or so I will be setting off for a couple of months of traveling around S.E. Asia.
I am surprised it has taken me so long to want to visit this destination, which is relatively close to home (12 hours in a plane as opposed to 24 hours in a plane to Europe). Until recently I have been under the ridiculous illusion that many of the countries in Asia are full of third world problems with little to see in the way of beautiful historical buildings and culturally relevant art. It has taken the internet to open my eyes to how mid 20th century and narrowly eurocentric my views about Asia were. YouTube vlogs and a host of travel blogs have shown me just how stupidly wrong my ideas about Asia have been, and now I am starting to become excited about the trip. Excited, but just a little nervous.

Some of the things I am nervous about are getting sick from bad water or bad food, catching mosquito carried diseases like dengue fever and malaria, or getting rabies from dog or monkey bites. I suppose a couple of inoculations and staying in the cities out of the jungles will help to avoid some of these problems and the reality is that I am probably more at risk from being hit by a car or scooter crossing the road.
When it comes to food though (and there are so many amazing foods I intend to try) I remember getting really sick three times in Europe from eating dodgy food. It can happen anywhere so I am ok with the potential risks of eating the local foods in S.E. Asia.

Another problem I have is that I have chosen to save a lot of money by flying everywhere with AirAsia using only a carry-on suitcase weighing 7kg (my suitcase is 2kg and laptop another 2kg) It should be interesting to see how few clothes I manage with.

Finally, because I will be traveling through seven countries, it should be fun getting used to using seven different currencies ( ie in Vietnam- $10 NZD is worth 167,470 VND, and in Indonesia-$10 NZD is worth 101,180 IDR, whilst in Thailand $10 NZD is worth 228 THB ).

It is almost a year since my last solo travels and I am feeling a little rusty..... but here goes anyway...

p.s. my new motto....... "it is better late than never"

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb