Hobbit Town!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Matamata
November 13th 2014
Published: November 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Green DoorGreen DoorGreen Door

Where does it go?
Or Hobbiton.

If you know nothing about New Zealand, then you at least know that the Lord of the Rings trilogy and Hobbit movies have been filmed here. In the small town of Matamata, the Shire was built into hillsides and preserved so that fans can live out their secret, hairy feet fantasies.

But I must confess: I committed a horrible crime. In my travels I passed straight through the town of Matamata without strolling through the Shire, without entering a hobbit hole, and without stopping for a beef and ale pie at the Green Dragon Inn.

Basically by opening this blog, you have just fallen for a little entertaining jape on my end.

But, don't judge this LOTR fan too harshly. One of you will inevitably come visit me and force me to take you to this place. Then, we can each pay $75 and walk around the village together, pretending we are several feet shorter than we actually are.

Until then, cheers!

(The photos you see are of the Shire themed information center in the city center 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Hobbit Town ThrownHobbit Town Thrown
Hobbit Town Thrown

Who should be sitting there?


28th November 2014

Cheap like you.
At $75. a pop, I'll take a pass also. Better yet, I'll build such a village right here! Want to help?
14th December 2014

catching up
hi sweet girl. Got behind due to to life and work on reading your blog. Sooooo this morning I've sat and read the entire thing start to the most recent. Ju is here with me and we discussed you and your life I so admire. I think the world of you and hope when you make it back thus way you'll stop in and spend some time again. I've do enjoyed all your visits and especially the time you and your mom stayed.

Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 21; qc: 118; dbt: 0.2271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb