T.S.R (This Sh*t Rules)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Manawatu » Levin
September 18th 2007
Published: September 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunday Alex took us to see the local countryside and the school where he works, which was very nice and relaxing. It was good to have a day where we did very little, life has been so hectic for the last few weeks its was the first day i didn't feel like i had to do things and go places, which is especially good because i am coming down with the world's most slow moving cold.
Monday ALex went to work and Danielle and i were supposed to catch the bus to wellington to go looking for jobs and places to live, but we didn't make it out the house in time so ended up hanging out in sunny Levin. Another relaxed day where we went to see Ratatoulie at the world's quietest and nicest cinema (its also a really nice film which will make you wanna cook)
So we went to Wellington yesterday (tuesday) instead. I turned up at this cool looking cafe with a cv, expecting to have the cv taken off me and then hear nothing, but they pretty much offered me a job on the spot as a prep chef, without looking at my cv or interviewing me. I have my first training next week.
Next stop was this social centre/activist hang-out where we spent about 15 minutes talking to a very nice young lady called Julie who offered me a plave in the house. The rent is slightly complicated but is NZ$30 a month for the entire house (just over ten quid) and i'll be paying 1/3 of that. So in one day i managed to get a job and a house without any real work, just by showing up. Difference is, everyone here is much more trusting than in the uk. The people have no reason to assume i'm gonna be an ass so don't, whereas in the UK we seem to start with the assumption that everyone is out to get us, and have to prove themselves other wise.
If all goes to plan I'm gonna move into the house on saturday (alex is driving down then) and start work next week. All i need is a band and i will be obscenely happy 😊

Chris xxx

ps here are my photos

http://s169.photobucket.com/albums/u222/tannhauser21/NZ/

Advertisement



19th September 2007

I'm liking this blog thing or not
I am sat in my office in Manchester, being kept at my first "lunch at desk" fiasco by the lovely northern rain, so thought I'd see how you were getting on. Well it seems, I am extremely jealous of the juxaposition in our circumstances! (look I used a v long word, worthy of a lawyer). Glad your shit seems to be coming together well, work is going well for me; very interesting but knackering getting up so early. I'm off into prison by myself tomorrow to see a client, extreme fun - they better let me out again! Suz forced me to play guitar hero with her brother for 4 hours the other Sunday, I'm in my element : )) Don't think my housemate is so keen on it yet, but it will grow on him. Stop putting kisses at the end of your messages, it worries me.
20th September 2007

Organisation
Wow honey that all sounds amazing. I think in most of the countries on the planet except the Uk and the US they see the world similarly to the Kiwi's, its just us on our little cold windswpet island!! Thats certainly been my experience (though limited) Are you making lots of friends and stuff like that and whats the weather like there? Things in Ellie land remain fairly bollocks. I think I'm in love with two men, i might have skin cancer, I'm still broke and the car is still busted. But its all mostly under control- the skin cancer thing is the scariest part and I'm going into hospital next week to have it looked at. Money issues are (VERY) slowly sorting themselves out as is the car and the bank, and as for the men- I'm happy where I am and know most definately that the grass is not greener on the other side, its more like an interesting shade of yellow. Which sometimes invites me to go exploring. But I'm not and I haven't and I shan't. All my love, wishing i was a million miles away somewhere exciting too (not that that would solve any of my issues at the moment!)

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb