Meeting the Lord of the Forest - in words and music


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hokianga
January 5th 2010
Published: January 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=oW6ocEuHrvY]Additional note for day 8

I think I may have succeeded in ‘splitting the atom’ here. After a little patience, and a following wind, I think I have managed to upload some video. This will be an achievement if it works, but not something I’m going to do so often, as it is time consuming.

So, I hope you will be able to click on the link or image here to see and hear the Maori guide who took us to Tane Mahuta (the giant Kauri tree) talking about his tribe’s version of the mythological story of creation, plus a song to the great ‘Lord’, and finally some words in Maori.

To me, this 6 minute video underlines the link between language and culture.

Now, is this different or what?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb