My 'bgirl' premier


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hamilton
August 16th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Moonlit nightMoonlit nightMoonlit night

The moon was huge. These pictures are taken just outside the door from my flat.
We got 3rd!... and move on to the finals which are friday night.
I don't have the pictures yet to prove it, which is why I've been holding off on this entry, but they are soon to come, and thought an update might be nice since I'm sure you were all dying to know how it went. 😉
I took a video of it...quite hilarious, and quite honestly, I am shocked we did so well.
The 2 teams that beat us were professional dancers from Auckland and Tauranga. If by 'professional' you are thinking.....hmmm, probably spinning on theirs heads and doing single handed hops and flips, well then.... you would be correct.
And if I may state the obvious, I am not a professional. hah
It was quite an interesting Hamilton outing, actually. We waited for 4 hours to perform for 3 minutes. Thankfully, free food and drinks were provided for the contestants during this time... (if you consider french fries, fried potato and fried fish rings to be food, and smirnoff ice to be a pleasant 'drink'). Upon getting 3rd, we won 100 dollars ---towards more 'food' and 'drinks'. Let me sum up by saying... I handed out my $50 winnings to my friends and headed back to the bar to get a real drink.
After the show, I ended up joining a Mauri (the name of the native peoples from NZ) dancing crew for the rest of the night, which made me feel quite out of place... it was great.

We return to compete against 8 other teams in the final (the best from 2 weeks of competition)
What am I hoping for you ask?
... no more money for smirnoff ice, and to not fall on my face.
oh, yea,
and my studies are going great. heh


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Looking EastLooking East
Looking East

This is the same view, just during daylight, which is from my bedroom window. (All 3 are taken looking over what you'd call the backyard)


21st August 2006

hello from across the world. sorta!
You don't know who I am, I actually found your blog by accident really. I was looking up a bgirl crew from japan and happend to stumble upon your post. Gratz on the third place. Keep bgirling. I think that is real fresh. http://alittlebitofrandomness.blogspot.com/
12th May 2012

Found your blog this morning.
I am enjoying it and congrats on 3rd place.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb