Steam Train...... or my impression of one.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Firth of Thames » Miranda
November 12th 2018
Published: November 12th 2018
Edit Blog Post

11th November

I have a plan, of sorts, to aim for the National and Regional Parks, that way I am guaranteed a scenic walk.

After I pack the van up, I head south towards Humus Ranges National Park. I get to the toll road, which reminds me that I still need to pay for the trip north on the toll road. Apparently it is an offence not to pay within days of use, best get on to that at some point.

It is about an hour and a half drive, every where takes so long to get to as the sipped limits are lower than the UK. Most roads are 80km which is about 50mph and the motorways are 100km (62mph).

I get there about 12ish and it was raining quite heavily, so I found a cafe and had coffee and a sandwich and a read of my book, currently reading The Blue Zone by Andrew Cross, another page Turner I cannot put down.

I get to Hunua Falls about 1, get my boots and jacket a walking pole and head to the information board to decide on my walk. The Hunua Falls Loop walk is about 20 minutes and the Suspension Bridge Track us about an hour and a half. I decide on the longer walk first. I was looking at the board trying to figure out where the start was and the Ranger came up to me to see If I need help. I told him my plans and he told me the Suspension Bridge Track was in another part of the park.

Back the van and of I head, get myself sorted at the other end, water glucose tablets, banana and cereal bar. That should keep me going.

Over the wooden suspension bridge, turn left, straight into forest and an upward path, which carried on going up. I was beginning to realize how unfit I am, I continue up and start huffing and puffing like a steam train, there is a sign if relief every time I get to a flat bit and ffs every time I get to a staircase. The climb is so steep they have put steps in, it is like one long session on the stepper at the gym, only you cannot get off when knackered.
I am thinking they should have used some of this wood for stairs for a bench so I could take a sit down.

Up I continue, then I get to the killer about 100 steps, got half way up, leant on my stick for a breather about halfway, then take a dozen steps and a break and then 6 at a time and a break and finally get the flat bit I had glimpsed. Hurrah! An easier walk for a while, who was I kidding, took a dozen steps, turned a corner and another set of steps.

Take a break, gird my loins and tackle it with gusto, by the time I got to the top my heart was bounding and my legs were jelly. Oh my god!

Finally get to the look out point at the top of the hill, I really could not summon the energy to climb the dozen steps to climb it and take in the view.

All down from here, I thought, No! Back up hill after about 100 metres. No turning back, I must be more than half way. Took another sip of water, caught my breath and carried on all down hill now.

Only down hill on muddy steps is not good when you don't feel your feet, I had to think about every step I took, some of the footpath had been washed away at the bottom of some of the staircases, something I had noticed on the way up, making it difficult to find a safe foothold.

I could hear voices in the distance behind me, eventually I was overtaken by two ladies and their dog Too breathless to say much more than “Hi", they soon left me in the distance. I Over heard them talking and figured that I was getting towards the end of the trail.

The footpath emerged from the forest onto a flat picnic area. I sat down, feeling exhausted. Finished my water and had banana and a snack bar and sat. I sat for what seemed like an eternity, then I hear children’s voices and from the track emerge a couple with two boys about 6 and 7. This is how unfit I am I gave been lapped, so to speak by a 6 and 7 year old, their car was not there when I started to walk.

Time to move, thinking that it can not be far to the car park, it turned out further than I expected, but was all on gently sloping gravel road. Got back the van just as it started to pour down, had a drink, took my boots and then drove back to Huana Falls.

Walked to the Falls and took the obligatory tourist photo and headed back to van, truth be told I could not summon up the energy to do the 20 minute walk that I was so enthusiastic at lunch time. It was getting late and I had no idea where I would be staying. Looked through the various brochures and found I likely looking site, only no mobile data to get directions, decided to head off back the way I came in, as there was mobile connection on the way to the car park.

As I was taking my coat off a couple of girls came up to me to ask my experience with my van, it seems they had booked one for the South Island leg of their trip and had heard bad reviews about customer service. I confirmed that my customer service experience had been poor but the van had been ok apart from the bed.

Off I go, found a signal and it seems that I was headed in the wrong direction for the camp site I had in mind. It was getting late and I was beginning to get hungry, did a u-turn back through the village I had lunch in. Glanced as the fuel level, so pulled over to top up and buy a snack to keep me going, the guy at the counter said their sausage rolls were quite filling . That'll do I though, he warmed one up for me and I move the van away from the pumps. He was not kidding about the sausage roll being filling, three bites was all I need to stop my belly rumbling.

The route to the campsite was very rural and flat, think Fens kind of flat, suddenly a dog appeared from a drainage ditch, slammed on brakes, the dog gave me a look as if to say what are you doing driving in my yard.

The car behind me braked, then one behind that rooted his horn and started to overtake us, at this point the dog continue to cross the so the tooting sports car had to slam on his brakes, he then meekly fell back into line; the tooting sports car not the dog.

Get to the campsite without further incident, booked myself in at about 6.30. First things first, tea, there is a hot water boiler on the kitchen so I do not even have to date for a kettle to boil. Bliss. Finish the sausage roll.

Decide on a lie down, which turned into a nap.
Woke up about 8, too tired to cook anything, so more tea and bread and apricot jam and then I make my bed up and climb in.

The campsite is quite commercial and the pitches are quite cramped and it is a proper family site, there is a pool, tennis courts, trampolines, playground, go karts among other things, they don't charge for using anything and there is a big basket of balls, raquets, golf clubs near reception to help yourself to.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0886s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb