Can't see the wood for the trees


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Dargaville
October 23rd 2012
Published: October 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Travelled east to west to visit the Kauri forest and see the Kauri museum. The largest living kauri tree is 1000 years old and measures 15 meters in cirumference. Kauri tress are still being discovered in swamps after being buried for 44,000 years. These trees were commonly felled over 100 years ago but conservationists stepped in 40 years ago and preserved the remaining forests.

The Kauri museum is facinating and shows examples of both the timber and the gum which was tapped and later mined.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Tree huggingTree hugging
Tree hugging

I can't wait 1000 years for a sapling. Can we just take this one back home?
Lord of the ringsLord of the rings
Lord of the rings

You can see why the tree scene was scary when the trees are this big.
I'm a lumberjack and I'm okI'm a lumberjack and I'm ok
I'm a lumberjack and I'm ok

How do I turn this thing off


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb