Kayaking to Cathedral Cove


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Hahei
March 20th 2010
Published: April 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Dot made us bacon and eggs for breakfast at our Mongolian Tent, then we went off in the minivan for a day at Hahei Beach with the kayak’s. I was in a kayak on my own and was a bit nervous in case I got stuck; floated away or capsized but I got the hang of it right away and loved every minute of it. It was wonderful to be in the middle of the ocean and being able to look back at the landscape with beautiful light coloured rock. We kayaked to a private beach called Cathedral Cove. There were other people there who had arrived by boat but I don't think there was a way to access this beach by foot or car which made it more exclusive.
We spent all day there, snacking on watermelon while the boys played in waterfalls and the sea. Then we kayaked back to the main beach and had to pull the kayaks up a steep hill to the carpark using ropes and posts. We hadn't really given it much thought earlier when we'd sent the kayaks flying down the hill with an almighty shove. It was hard work but we got there in the end.
We stopped to collect more beers on the way back to the Tent and made chicken and toasted pittas for dinner on our BBQ. I had a few Vodka's but I'm so in to my book that I had to get it finished. Off to bed I went.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 26; qc: 119; dbt: 0.1613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb