Central Otago Here We Come Again


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Central Plateau
March 17th 2008
Published: March 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Ruapehu in the distanceRuapehu in the distanceRuapehu in the distance

Ruapehu in the distance
Well here we are off again on another Central Otago Holiday, not sure what it is that keeps drawing us back to this amazing part of New Zealand, but both Sheryll and I thoroughly enjoy each trip we have made over the past few years. This trip is starting off differently in that I am leaving home before Sheryll and taking "Sammy Surf" our 4WD, our home away from home for the next month, down to Wellington via Kimbolton to see my daughter Aimee and son in law Jason and our grandson Jack.
It was a great trip down, the weather was sunny all he way and the traffic was light, this was the first time I had seen Mt Ruapehu with no snow in many years, evidence of the great summer we have had in New Zealand this year. The last time we had seen Jack was when Jason and Aimee were married at Easter last year. Jack will be 2 years old on the 11th of May and it was so much fun to see how he had grown. Even though he hadn't seen me in a year he was happy to sit on my knee and have some
Mt RuapehuMt RuapehuMt Ruapehu

Mt Ruapehu after a great Summer showing no snow
of his favourite books read to him. Later that afternoon it was the whole family on the lawn kicking and throwing balls for Jack to play with. Jack has a new playmate, Tigger the kitten a lovely grey and black Tabby, that he gives a bit of a hard time at the moment.

Speaking of playmates for Jack, Aimee and Jason are expecting their second child on my youngest son, Rob's birthday on June 4th, Aimee tells me that the scans have confirmed that it will be a girl. Congratulations to you both,our family continues to grow and Poppa Muzz will have to add a new entry in the "Thomson Family Tree".
Jack surprised us with a sleep in on Monday morning so we weren't up too early for breakfast, but after helping Jack have his bowl of cereal it was time to get back into "Sammy Surf" and head for the Kapiti Coast to see my Mum and brother Ritchie.

For those of you that have visited us recently (especially the Cottons from Vancouver Island, B.C & the Hashimoto's from New Denver B.C, you may have heard about the "other woman" in my life. Let me introduce
Mt NgaruahoeMt NgaruahoeMt Ngaruahoe

Mt Ngaruahoe and Mountain Heather in bloom
you to Madge a rather mature and somewhat nagging Australian lady that I picked up in a local electronic store recently, I am finding that I cant go anywhere without her these days, much to Sheryll's annoyance as it is only in recent years that we have managed to have holidays on our own without the kids, Sheryll is not too impressed with my insistence on Madge tagging along as well. Madge complains if she doesn't get to sit in the front seat as she says she needs a view of the satellites (not sure what that is all about). Sheryll has finally given in and allowed Madge to have her way and reluctantly shares the front seat with her.

So to cut a long story short, I found the trip down from Auckland to Kimbolton very pleasant as Madge chatted about all sorts of things as we made our way through the countryside, she does have some annoying habits though and on the very odd occasion when the speedometer reading crept 1 Km over the 100 km h she was looking over my shoulder and very promptly reminded me that I was speeding. Come on Madge give us
JackJackJack

Jack at home in Kimbolton
a break 102 km h down the Bombay Hills, everyone was passing me.

Aimee took an instant dislike to Madge. We had decided to get Fish and Chips from the local Cheltenham store, Madge insisted on coming along for the ride, she said she knew where it was we were going
I think Madge and Aimee got off on the wrong foot right from the beginning, for a start the locals pronounce Aimee's town as (Kim Bolt On), Madge got up Aimee's nose when she kept calling it (Kim Bill Tin), she still has a harsh Sydney side accent and I must admit it didn't sound that good to me either, to top it off she kept warning us that we were about to travel on a gravel road, come on Madge thats what happens when you live in the country.

Since I have been here at Mum's (Monday 17th March) Madge has been off doing other things, so i have to say it has been nice not to be ear-bashed for most of the day. We probably will hook up again first thing tomorrow morning (if I can stand it) I have an early start so as
Jack at PlayJack at PlayJack at Play

Jack at Play March 2008
to be in the queue for the ferry crossing from Wellington to Picton at 7.25 am. I think Madge intends hanging around till I get to Christchurch on Tuesday afternoon.I will have to see how things develop after that as Sheryll and I meet up again on Wednesday . Sheryll is flying down to Christchurch from Auckland after work on Wednesday evening.
I think I have a bit of explaining to do !!!

Advertisement



17th March 2008

Enjoy enjoy
Tell Madge to speak in Kiwi accent
18th March 2008

Madge
I'm working on it Pam, talk about a back seat driver
18th March 2008

Blog
March 18th 2008 blog "Malc" Great to read Muzz but dont let that Madge get too friendly--- she may be able to look up at the satelites but I bet you she dont give cuddles like Sheryll does!!! A word of warning from the wise and revered unkie. Love 2 u both from us here in hot and calm Hamilton.
18th March 2008

Thanks
Thanks for your comments

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb