Tuesday 15th March - Bay of Plenty


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Tauranga
March 15th 2011
Published: March 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today is a ”chill out” day, as we are remaining at the Pappamoa Beach
We get up at around 07:00 and go to the shower block to shower. We have agreed to use the shower and toilet in the campervan just for emergencies as neither of us fancy the “slopping out” bit.
We had a late breakfast at around 10:00
After breakfast we went for a walk to the supermarket, which is nearby, to stock up on a few things.
When we got back, I went for a walk along the beach and Di did some laundry. The beach goes on for “miles”. I had decided that I would walk towards Mount Maugani; I figured that it was about 10 km away. I walk about 5 km and the Mount is getting no nearer. I think that I am a bit out on my estimation! Nonetheless the walk has been interesting, not to speak about some exercise so that I will not have too much “excess baggage” when I return to the UK.
As I was walking I came across quite a few seabirds, and they seem quite used to humans as I can get up quite close to photograph them. One bird that I believe to be a Pied Cormorant or Shag, was really friendly and allowed me to get right up close to photograph it.

I also came across some guys with electrically powered winches feeding a line out to sea. I ask the guy what he was doing, and he was fishing, but in a most unusual way. He had what could best be described as a “torpedo”. This thing goes out to sea, self-propelled for about a kilometer with hooks attached, and after a while they winch it back (Hopefully with fish attached to the hooks!)

When I got back after my 10K walk. Di had prepared a Chicken Salad, which we ate outside with a bottle of Chardonnay – very nice!

We just chilled out for the rest of the day, and went to bed at around 21:00



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb