Tauranga, Mount Mauanganui & New Friends


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Tauranga
December 19th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thursday 18th,
In high spirits, & with a promise that I will be safe, I left camp, ready fot the next leg on my jouney, hoping to make it to Tauranga.

I am so glad I listened to God, because just ouside of town a small camper pulled up beside me. The driver said he's going to Matamata, to the Hobbiton set from Lord of the Rings & Taurange is on his way.

His name is Bas Poppe, from the Netherlands. he is on a 9 month spiritual journey accross the world. We had the most amazing conversation about life, love, relationships, God, religion en everything else. It was like we've been friends for years!

We stopped for coffee in Waihi at the Kava Café & he bought me the best cuppaccino I have ever had. We had a great ride down to Tauranga. He has a very enlightened way of thinking & has reached some amazing insights on his travels. He dropped me at the iSite & I was sad to say goodbye, I could have easilly traveled with him for many miles! Thanx Bas, I appreciate the lift & I hope you find what you are looking for!

Spent the next two days with Aubrey Gerber, his wife Cherryl & their two daugters, Casey & Ashley. They are friends with Lynette (who is distant family of mine) who I met in Auckland. They didn't know me from a bar of soap, but gave me a place to stay for two days.

I was treated to steak, potato salad, garlic bread, asparagus & tomato. It was delicious! I slept in a bed for the first time in two weeks, it was magnificent!

Friday 19th,
I spent the day hiking up Mount Maunganui, a dormant volcano. From the summit you get the most amazing view of the city, the harbour & White Island.

On the montain I received a call from Rodney, who works at El Ranco, Waikanae Christian Holiday Park outside of Wellington. I had emailed him earlier that day abou volunteering at their camp. They said they are keen for me to come and volunteer provided my references & visa checks out.

I'm taking the bus to Wellington on monday to go stay with Clive & Lize, friends from SA, for christmas and new year. I'll hop over to El Rancho for a meeting with Rodney so that we can see if I can volunteer there for January. I'm so excited!

I spent the rest of the day walking around checking out the beaches, shops etc. Tauranga looks like a wonderful place to live.

I spent a nice evening with the Gerbers, they are such generous friendly people & I'm very glad to have met them. It recharged my bateries, it gets a bit lonely on the road & they took me in & treated me like family. Thanx for taking me in & spoiling me. I truely appreciate it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb