Mount Maunganui


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Mount Maunganui
November 19th 2018
Published: November 19th 2018
Edit Blog Post

18th November

I booked 2 nights at the campsite, so no rush this morning. I plan to walk today, in two minds as to walk the base trail or attempt the summit.

First things first, breakfast, tea and washing on. Have a shower, wash up and tidy van whilst waiting for the washer to finish. I really cannot bring myself to use the tumble drier on such a sunny day, so hang the washing up around the van.

Settle in with a book, the washing is soon dry. Make a sandwich and then head for a walk around the base track, should take 45 minutes. The track was fairly flat, so no problems apart from the bit, about two thirds around, where there had been a landslide and they built steps around it, so 4 flights up and 3 flights down.

Headed back to the site and it started to rain just as I get there, so l lie in the van with my latest book, Matthew Flinder's Cat by Bryce Courtenay, and soon fell asleep.

Woke up about 6.30, had a bite to eat and a shower and it was getting dark by the time I had my shower.
Bugger; I had to put the duvet cover on in the dark. I made up my bed and climbed in once the battle had been won.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb