Very Long Travel day but Amazing destination


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
April 28th 2013
Published: November 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Up early and have a lovely mooch over the bridge to explore the opposite side over the river, which turned out to be just a campsite. So I headed back over and into town for a wander there, though noting was open. I pack up and jump on the shuttle back to Hamilton, which apparently is a new service, otherwise, no way in and out of the town on public transport at the weekend. In Hamilton bus station much to my surprise and joy I find some luggage lockers, so lock my bags away 11am – 1pm and go for a walk along the river path for a couple of hours. Mixed path, mainly alongside the large river, along by the rowing club, by the road, and through some forest, not all scenic but so nice to stretch my legs. I picked up a fresh juice and some sushi on the way back to the bus station and at 2.05pm jumped on my next bus to Auckland. 2 hours later we arrived in Auckland, passing through some lush green countryside enroot. We had a one hour stop-over in Auckland and it was strange to be back. It feels like a lot has changed since I first arrived here, I have been lucky enough to make some amazing friends along the way and explore this beautiful and diverse country, forming fantastic memories. We leave Auckland at 5.15pm and finally arrive at my destination – Paihia, at 9pm. There are only two of us left on the coach, and the driver drops us right at the hostel, which is unheared of, but very nice. We went through some very small and way out towns on the journey, it was interesting to see them, however limited in the dark and the types of people getting off at them. The further North from Auckland we went it felt the Maori population increased.

The hostel – Seashells, was absolutely stunning. More like a hotel, clean, modern, minimalist, and luxury furnishings. I was in a female 6 bed dorm, but it the room was actually 3 2-bed rooms put together, so it was fantastic, and lots of space! The owner showed me round, and in the kitchen were the handful of other guests staying, including Claire – one of the girls I was sharing a room in Queenstown with and went to Fergburger with and the German boy who I went caving with in Waitomo – how funny. I really have covered some miles today, and it’s nice to arrive to a beautiful hostel and great relaxed atmosphere. I enjoy a green tea and sit round the dining table chatting to the others.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb